MessyPig

28 checked · last checked 29 September 2026

Stainless steel water bottles, rated on what they’re made of

The lead question in steel bottles is real, widely misreported, and easy to sidestep entirely. Scored on the steel grade, the lid and the straw — the parts most makers leave out.

Four reusable bottles in a row: a sage insulated bottle with a flip lid, a terracotta insulated bottle, a cream bottle with a loop cap, and a clear glass bottle with a steel infuser
Cookware (47)Lunchboxes (27)Food storage (36)Bottles (28)Air fryers (30)

The short version

  • The lead question is about one soldered dot sealing the vacuum at the base — not the steel.
  • Single-wall bottles don’t have one. No vacuum, no seal, no dot. That ends it.
  • On an intact insulated bottle, two barriers separate the dot from your drink. No normal-use route.
  • A cracked or missing base cap is the real signal — and the exposure route is hands, not water.
  • Current production tests better than older stock, on both the brands’ and their critic’s accounts.
Why, in full ↓

The 28 we’ve checked

We score what it’s made of, so you don’t have to read the small print

Every score below is out of 100 for the materials — mostly what actually touches your food (60 points), then the lids, seals and handles (25), and whether the maker can back the materials claim up (15).

80–100 bare, inert materials 60–79 mostly inert 40–59 coated, or plastic in contact 0–39 coated, plastic, or unnamed

Bare stainless, cast iron and glass score highest because there is nothing applied to them that can come off. Coatings score lower the less the maker will say about them, and a product whose materials are never named cannot score at all — you can’t call something inert if nobody will tell you what it is.

This is not a safety rating. We run no laboratory. A low score means the food meets a coating or a plastic, or that nobody will say what it meets — which is worth knowing, and is not the same as something being wrong with it. How we score, in full

Ranked by score. Nothing here is a paid link — we are not in any affiliate programme.

87 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up6/15
Best material here

KeepCup Helix Thermal

18/8 electropolished stainless · PP #5 and LDPE #4 lids · Tritan Renew #7 straw · silicone seal

Best material

The only bottle we have found, in any market, that names every single part with a resin identification code.

Body 18/8 electropolished stainless. Lids polypropylene #5 or LDPE #4. Straw Tritan Renew #7. Seal food grade silicone. Nobody else comes close.

They claim
Plastics "free from phthalates (BPA, BPS, BPF) including DEHP, lead and cadmium"
Made in
Australia, UK and China — not resolved per part
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published on the materials page
Heat
See KeepCup care guidance
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The plastics are stated to be “free from phthalates (BPA, BPS, BPF) including DEHP, lead and cadmium” and “independent lab tested”. The lab is not named and no report is published, which is why the backing points are partial rather than full. [1]
  • The interior is electropolished bare steel with no lining — stated, which is the question most insulated bottles dodge. [1]
  • The vacuum seal solder is not addressed. The lead claim covers the plastics only. [1]
  • Manufacturing spans “Australia, United Kingdom, China” and is not resolved per part. An Australian brand, but not an Australian-made product as such. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. KeepCup — Helix Thermal materials page
$65AUD, varies by configuration View on eu.keepcup.com
83 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up6/15

b.box 500ml Insulated Bottle with Silicone Spout

Food grade 304 stainless · PP lid · silicone spout — all three named

Buy it

A kids’ bottle that names the steel grade, the lid polymer and the spout material. For this category that is close to a full house.

The spout is the part that goes in a child’s mouth, and b.box says it is silicone rather than leaving it blank like almost everyone else.

They claim
"no traces of BPA, Phthalates, PVC, lead or heavy metals detected"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top rack dishwasher only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The testing claim is the broadest in this category and the least specific: “All our products are tested by a global independent testing body to international standards. Test reports confirm that are no traces of BPA, Phthalates, PVC, lead or heavy metals detected”. No body is named, no standard is named, no reports are published. [1]
  • “No traces… detected” is meaningless without a detection limit, and none is given. Compare YETI, which publishes 0.002 mg/kg. [1]
  • The internal valve material is not published. Silicone cure type not stated. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. Top-rack dishwasher only. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. b.box 500ml Insulated Bottle with Silicone Spout Lid
81 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

Ever Eco 1L Insulated Drink Bottle

304 (18/8) stainless — bottle AND lid · food grade silicone seal · powder-coated exterior

Buy it

The lid is steel, not plastic — which removes the mouth-contact polymer that almost every other bottle in this table leaves unnamed.

304 and 18/8 both given, for the bottle and the lid, with a named silicone seal. Clean.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Hand wash
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The powder-coated exterior’s composition is not published. That is true of every coated bottle we checked, without exception. [1]
  • Lead in the vacuum seal is not addressed. No brand in this category publishes a detection limit or a numeric result. [1]
  • Silicone cure type not stated and no standard body cited. [1]
  • Country of manufacture and warranty not published. Hand wash. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Ever Eco 1L Insulated Drink Bottle
81 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

Oasis Insulated Drink Bottle 750ml

18/8 stainless inside and out · all-stainless cap · silicone seal · made in China

Buy it

“Quality 18/8 grade stainless steel inside and out”, with an all-stainless cap and a silicone seal. No plastic in the drinking path at all, for thirty dollars.

It also states “Made in China” plainly, which only three products in this entire category do.

They claim
"BPA Free, PBS-free and Phthalate-free" (sic)
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Hand wash only recommended
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The claim string contains “PBS-free”, which is not a substance — almost certainly a typo for BPS. Sloppy enough to undermine confidence in the rest of it. [1]
  • Oasis has no functioning brand site we could reach. Every material claim above comes from retailers, not the maker. [1]
  • Exterior coating composition not published. Lead in the vacuum seal not addressed. [1]
  • Hand wash recommended. No warranty published. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Reusable Planet — Oasis Insulated Drink Bottle 750ml
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

CamelBak Chute Mag 32oz Insulated

“85% 304 Stainless Steel, 10% PP Copolymer, 5% Silicone” — a full percentage composition

Buy it

A percentage-by-weight material composition, which is rare enough in this category to be worth calling out on its own.

304 named for the vessel, and the polymer families named for everything else.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim; a Prop 65 notice is published instead
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published on the product page
Heat
Fully dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • CamelBak gives you the families and does not map them to parts. You cannot tell from the page which component is the PP copolymer and which is the silicone. [1]
  • Powder coat composition not published. [1]
  • Lead in the vacuum seal is not addressed. The page does carry a California Proposition 65 notice stating the stainless steel “may contain Nickel, Chromium, Manganese, and Iron”. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. “The whole thing is dishwasher safe.” [1]

Sources (1)

  1. CamelBak Chute Mag 32oz Insulated Stainless Steel
$29.99USD; AU retail approx $55–65 View on camelbak.com
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

MontiiCo 1L Drink Bottle Screw Top

18/8 and 304 stainless · BPA-free polypropylene lid · straw and gasket not named

Buy it

Names both steel designations and the lid polymer. For an Australian kids’ brand that is well above average.

The lead claim is the part to read carefully: “No nasties here - this base is 100% Lead and BPA Free”.

They claim
"this base is 100% Lead and BPA Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
6 months
Heat
Base to 70°C; lids top shelf
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • That claim has no test data, no detection limit and no lab behind it. It matters here more than usual, because Stanley’s own support article shows the vacuum seal is exactly where lead sits in insulated bottles — and MontiiCo asserts the opposite without evidence. [1] [2]
  • Straw and gasket materials are not published. Exterior coating not published. [1]
  • Six-month warranty, the shortest in this category by a distance. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. MontiiCo has absorbed both Little Lunch Box Co and The Lunch Punch — both domains now redirect here. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. MontiiCo 1L Drink Bottle Screw Top
  2. Stanley support — lead pellets in the vacuum seal
$48.90AUD View on montii.co
74 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up6/15

Stanley Quencher H2.0 FlowState 40oz

90% recycled 18/8 stainless · powder coat · lid and straw polymers not named · lead in the vacuum seal

Buy it

The most-bought bottle in Australia, and the only brand in this entire table that admits lead is used in it.

Stanley’s own support article: the vacuum seal “includes pellets, some of which include some lead, and all of which are covered with a durable stainless-steel layer, making them inaccessible to consumers”.

They claim
"90% recycled 18/8 stainless steel, BPA-free"; lead disclosed only in a support article
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Lifetime
Heat
Dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • That admission is honest and it is buried. The Australian product page says only “BPA-free” and is completely silent on lead. A shopper reading the listing would never learn it. [1] [2]
  • Also stated: “no lead is present on the surface of any Stanley product that comes into contact with the consumer nor the contents of the product”. No detection limit and no numeric test result are published. [2]
  • “Stanley tests for and validates compliance on all products through FDA-accredited 3rd party labs” — labs not named, reports not published. [2]
  • The FlowState lid and the reusable straw are the mouth-contact parts and neither polymer is named. Nor is the gasket, nor the powder coat. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. Lifetime warranty, dishwasher safe. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Stanley Australia — Quencher H2.0 FlowState 40oz
  2. Stanley support — do the Quencher tumblers contain lead
$60AUD on sale, RRP $80 View on au.stanley1913.com
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Cheeki 1.6L XL Stainless Bottle

304 (18/8) food grade stainless · bamboo lid · gasket material not named

Fine

Names the steel grade and states China plainly. Single-wall, so there is no vacuum seal and therefore no sealing dot — the one place lead actually shows up in steel bottles.

A modest, accurate set of claims, with one piece of confident language that is doing less than it appears to.

They claim
"BPA free"; "printed with non-toxic ink designs"
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED
Heat
Not stated
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • Their origin statement is “All Cheeki products are ethically made in China. The facilities we use meet strict international standards for fair and safe labour and working conditions.” That is a labour claim, and no standard, auditor or certifying body is named. It says nothing about product testing, despite sounding like it might. [1]
  • No third-party testing or laboratory named for the steel or the bamboo lid. [1]
  • The gasket material is not specified. [1]
  • No warranty found. [1]
  • On the lead question generally, see the sealing dot explained — single-wall bottles like this one sidestep it entirely.

Sources (2)

  1. Cheeki ethical business page — origin statement
  2. Cheeki 1.6L XL bottle at Biome
UNVERIFIEDcheck cheeki.au or Biome View on cheeki.au
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Klean Kanteen Insulated TKWide 32oz

Certified 90% post-consumer recycled 18/8 stainless · steel straw · Klean Coat powder coat · cap polymer not named

Buy it

A built-in steel straw, which removes the single most intimate mouth-contact polymer in any bottle. Very few brands do this.

18/8 named, and the brushed stainless version has no coating at all — stated plainly, which is more useful than most coating disclosures.

They claim
"BPA Free and Lead Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Lifetime limited
Heat
Caps dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The cap body polymer and the gasket are not named, and “Klean Coat” is a trade name with no published composition. [1]
  • “BPA Free and Lead Free” is asserted with no test result and no detection limit. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. [1]
  • “Strong as Steel Lifetime Limited Warranty”; caps dishwasher safe. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Klean Kanteen Insulated TKWide 32oz with Twist Straw Cap
$46.95USD; AU approx $70–80 via Biome View on kleankanteen.com
70 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 940ml Dual Function Drink Bottle (Kmart / Target)

Body: stainless steel, grade not stated · Lid: PP, silicone, ABS and stainless steel

Buy it

The best-disclosed bottle at either Kmart or Target: the materials field splits body from lid and names four separate lid materials.

Most bottles in this price bracket give you one word. This gives you five, properly separated.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim, despite an ABS lid component
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not suitable for microwave, dishwasher or freezer
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The four lid materials are listed together without saying which part is which. The drinking spout is lid-side and therefore food-contact, and its specific material is not identified. [1]
  • The steel grade is not published. No 304, no 18/8, no 316, and no statement about whether the interior is lined or coated. [1]
  • This is the only product in the Anko range that names ABS — and the only plastic-containing Anko product with no BPA claim at all. Kmart puts “BPA free” on $2 polypropylene containers and omits it on a bottle whose lid is explicitly ABS. [1] [2]
  • Not suitable for microwave, dishwasher or freezer. The near-identical 530ml version of the same bottle carries no such restriction and is simply silent — same declared materials, different care rules. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Kmart — Anko 940ml Navy Dual Function Drink Bottle
  2. Kmart — 15 Piece Food Container Set, “BPA free”
  3. Kmart — Anko 530ml Charcoal Dual Function Drink Bottle
$10AUD, from $14 View on kmart.com.au
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Ovela 2L Insulated Bottle with 3 Lids (Kogan)

“Material: 304 Stainless steel” — the vessel only · three lids and two straws, none named

Buy it

The vessel is named properly: 304 stainless, triple-wall vacuum insulated. That is the right answer for the part that holds two litres of water all day.

But the single “Material” field covers a product that is roughly half plastic by part count, and says nothing about any of it.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Not suitable for carbonated drinks; dishwasher guidance not published
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • It ships with a handle lid, a twist-spout lid, a flip-straw lid and two reusable straws. Three lids and two straws are direct mouth-contact items and not one has a stated material. [1]
  • The exterior is black, implying a powder coat or paint, and the exterior finish is not disclosed either. [1]
  • No BPA claim on a product with three plastic lids and two plastic straws — a claim that would be trivially cheap to make and is simply absent. [1]
  • “304” is asserted, not certified. The page does not say whether the interior is bare 304 or lined, which is the question that matters on cheap insulated bottles. [1]
  • No dishwasher guidance at all, which is unusual — nearly every other Ovela product has that field. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Ovela 2L Insulated Stainless Steel Water Bottle
$34.99AUD, Kogan FIRST price; $39.99 otherwise View on kogan.com
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Hydro Flask 32oz Wide Mouth

18/8 “pro-grade” stainless · Colour Last powder coat · no lid, straw or gasket polymer named

Buy it

18/8 named for the vessel, bare interior, no lining. That part is right.

Then nothing: no polymer named for the Flex Cap, the Straw Lid, the Flip Lid or any gasket, and no composition for the Colour Last powder coat.

They claim
"BPA-Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Lifetime
Heat
AU page says dishwasher safe; US page advises against
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Lead is not addressed on the Australian product page. Press reporting in 2024 noted Hydro Flask marketing itself as not using lead, in contrast with Stanley — we could not find that claim on Hydro Flask’s own Australian site, so treat it as unverified by the maker. [1]
  • The Australian page says “Dishwasher safe”. The US page says the bottle is not recommended in a dishwasher because of powder coat heat damage, while lids are. Same product, two regions, opposite advice. [1] [2]
  • Country of manufacture not published. [1]
  • Lifetime warranty. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Hydro Flask Australia — 32oz Wide Mouth
  2. Hydro Flask US — 18 oz Wide Mouth
$46.19AUD on sale, RRP $69.99 View on hydroflask.com.au
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Thermos Stainless King 24oz

18/8 stainless · lid polymer and gasket not named · made in China

Buy it

18/8 stated, and “China” stated — one of only three products in this category to name a country of manufacture.

The push-button lid is where your drink comes out and its polymer is not named. Neither is the locking ring or the gasket.

They claim
"BPA-free construction throughout"
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
“Thermos® warranty” — term not stated
Heat
Top rack dishwasher only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA-free construction throughout” is a claim about the whole product with no polymer identified anywhere in it. [1]
  • Lead in the vacuum seal is not addressed. [1]
  • “Sweat-proof exterior” — finish composition not published. [1]
  • The warranty is referred to as “the Thermos® warranty” with no term stated on the page. Top-rack dishwasher only. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Thermos Stainless King 24oz
$32.99USD; AU approx $45–55 at Big W and Myer View on thermos.com
66 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 530ml Dual Function Drink Bottle (Kmart)

Body: stainless steel, grade not stated · Lid: PP, silicone, ABS and stainless steel

Fine

Identical declared materials to its 940ml sibling — and different care instructions.

The 940ml says “Not suitable for microwave, dishwasher or freezer use”. This one says nothing at all. Same line, same materials, two different sets of rules.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim, despite an ABS lid component
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
No care restriction published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Two bottles in one range, with identical stated composition, where one bans dishwasher use and the other is silent. Only one of those pages can be right. [1] [2]
  • “Keeping drinks hot or cold for hours” and “Keeps hot or cool up to 6 hours” appear in the same block — a vague claim and a specific one, side by side. [1]
  • Steel grade not published. Lid materials named but not assigned to parts. [1]
  • No BPA claim, on a lid that contains ABS. Kmart’s blue variant of this bottle returned a 404 at time of check. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Kmart — Anko 530ml Charcoal Dual Function Drink Bottle
  2. Kmart — Anko 940ml Navy Dual Function Drink Bottle
Not displayedAUD; price did not render at time of check View on kmart.com.au
66 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 600ml Stainless Steel Drink Bottle (Kmart / Target)

“Stainless steel, polypropylene (PP) and silicone” — one undifferentiated string

Fine

Three materials listed, none assigned to a part. Unlike the Anko Dual Function line, there is no Body/Lid breakdown at all.

So you know polypropylene and silicone are in there somewhere, and not where.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not suitable for microwave, dishwasher or freezer
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Features two openings: one at the top and another at the neck” — two drinking interfaces, neither of whose material is identified. [1]
  • Steel grade not published. [1]
  • Marketed for school — “perfect for days at school” — and the Target listing of the same bottle states it is not dishwasher safe. A kids’ bottle you cannot put in the dishwasher. [2]
  • No BPA or PFAS claim. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Kmart — 600ml Green Stainless Steel Drink Bottle
  2. Target — Anko 600ml Green Stainless Steel Drink Bottle
$5AUD, from $12 View on kmart.com.au
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Brilliant Basics Glass Drink Bottle 800ml (Big W)

Glass, type not stated · protective silicone sleeve · the lid is never described at all

Fine

Glass is the best answer a $6 bottle can give, and this one gives it — then stops. The glass is not identified as borosilicate, not identified as tempered, and there is no thermal-shock guidance.

The lid is not described anywhere on the page: not its material, not whether it has a liner or gasket.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Protective silicone sleeve” is named, with no grade. The sleeve is the part that never touches your drink. [1]
  • No care instructions, no dishwasher guidance, no warranty, no country of manufacture. [1]
  • No BPA or PFAS claim, on a bottle with an undescribed lid. [1]
  • Big W’s own-brand bottles are the disclosure floor of this whole audit. Two of them — the Transparent Guzzler 1L and the Single Sipper 750ml — name no material whatsoever, and the Openook Insulated 950ml does not even say whether it is steel or plastic. [2] [3] [4]

Sources (4)

  1. Big W — Brilliant Basics Glass Drink Bottle 800ml
  2. Big W — Brilliant Basics Transparent Guzzler Drink Bottle 1L
  3. Big W — Brilliant Basics Single Sipper Bottle 750ml
  4. Big W — Openook Insulated Bottle 950ml
$6AUD, from $9 View on bigw.com.au
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Chilly’s Series 3 Flip Bottle

“90% recycled stainless steel”, no grade · lid drinking surface carries an unnamed antimicrobial additive

Fine

The phrase to stop on is “BPA free lid drinking surface with antimicrobial additive”.

An additive, on the surface your mouth touches, and the substance is never identified. That is the single most conspicuous undisclosed item we found in this category.

They claim
"BPA free lid drinking surface with antimicrobial additive"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Hand wash only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “90% recycled stainless steel” with no grade at all — the weakest steel disclosure of any premium brand here. Recycled content describes provenance, not alloy. [1]
  • Lid polymer, gasket and exterior coating: none published. The telescopic straw is stainless. [1]
  • Chilly’s materials FAQ is disallowed by robots.txt, so their fullest material statement — if there is one — could not be read. We did not work around the block. [1]
  • Hand wash only: “NOT: Dishwasher Safe”. Lead not addressed. Country not published. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Chilly's Series 3 Flip Bottle
£40approx AUD $75–85 View on chillys.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Contigo Cortland Chill 2.0 24oz

Stainless steel, grade not published · AUTOSEAL spout and gasket not named

Fine

“Double-wall vacuum-insulated stainless steel body” with no grade, and an AUTOSEAL spout with no polymer.

The spout is the sole drinking surface on this bottle. It is also the only part that really needed describing.

They claim
"BPA Free: Yes"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Limited lifetime
Heat
Lid top-rack dishwasher
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No 18/8, no 304, nothing. For a bottle sold on its steel, the grade is the one number missing. [1]
  • “BPA Free: Yes” is a checkbox attached to no named polymer, so it cannot be checked for BPS or BPF substitution. [1]
  • Lead in the vacuum seal is not addressed on the maker’s page. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. Limited lifetime warranty; lid top-rack dishwasher. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Contigo Cortland Chill 2.0 24oz AUTOSEAL
$28.49USD RRP; AU approx $35–45 at Big W and Kmart View on gocontigo.com
55 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food34/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

Made by Fressko Play Bottle 420ml, Ceramic Lined

304 stainless with a ceramic lining, composition not published · titanium straw · silicone and 304 lid

Read the caveats

A titanium straw and a lid of silicone and 304 steel — no mouth-contact plastic anywhere, which is genuinely unusual.

But the ceramic lining is the food-contact surface, and “food-grade ceramic” is a category, not a composition. No glaze chemistry, no firing data, no heavy-metal leach test.

They claim
"BPA-free, lead-free, and non-toxic"
Made in
Designed in Melbourne; assembled in China (stated)
Warranty
12 months
Heat
Lids top rack; body hand wash
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The steel grade is not on the product page. It is in the FAQ — “food grade 304 stainless steel”, and for ceramic items “304 stainless steel coated in food-grade ceramic”. Cite the FAQ, not the listing. [2]
  • “BPA-free, lead-free, and non-toxic” with no test data. “Non-toxic” is unqualified and unfalsifiable. [1]
  • Origin is stated unusually well: “Designed in Melbourne, Australia, and responsibly assembled in China”. That is the cleanest designed-versus-made split in this whole table and we score it as assembled in China. [1]
  • Twelve-month warranty. Lids top rack; bodies hand wash, because “dishwashers can cause patchiness and discolouration on the colour-coated surface”. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Made by Fressko — Play Bottle 420ml ceramic
  2. Made by Fressko FAQ — the steel grade and ceramic statement
53 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food53/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 2L Top Handle Drink Bottle (Target)

“Double wall stainless steel” · handle, lid and seal materials not published

Fine

A 2-litre insulated bottle with no product description, no materials field and no care instructions. Seven bullet points, and one of them is the material.

“Double wall stainless steel” is true and thin: no grade, no interior lining statement, and nothing at all about the lid or the top carry handle.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
No care instructions published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No care instructions of any kind — not dishwasher, not microwave, not hand-wash. [1]
  • “Top carry handle” material not published. Lid material not published. Seal not published. [1]
  • No BPA or PFAS claim. [1]
  • Warning for anyone scraping Target: two “Double Wall Insulated Drink Bottle” URLs served content for a different capacity and colour than their own slug. Verify before citing a price. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Target — Anko 2L Black Stainless Steel Top Handle Drink Bottle
  2. Target — Double Wall Insulated Drink Bottle 750ml (URL and content mismatch)
53 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food53/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 946ml Kuromi Stainless Steel Bottle (Kmart)

“Material: Stainless steel” — one word, covering a printed multi-component product

Fine

A licensed character bottle aimed squarely at children, and the thinnest materials disclosure of any bottle in this table.

The materials field says “Stainless steel”. The product has a lid, a top carry handle and a printed exterior, and none of the three is declared.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
“Clean according to given instructions”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Kuromi print on the bottle” — no coating, ink or paint composition given, on a children’s product. And no dishwasher guidance, despite a printed exterior. [1]
  • Kmart’s adult Anko line discloses four separate lid materials. Its Sanrio kids’ line discloses none. The Hello Kitty equivalent is identical in this respect. [1] [2] [3]
  • Steel grade not published. No BPA or PFAS claim. [1]
  • No warranty, no country of manufacture, no third-party testing. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Kmart — 946ml Kuromi Stainless Steel Bottle
  2. Kmart — 946ml Hello Kitty Stainless Steel Drink Bottle
  3. Kmart — Anko 940ml Dual Function Bottle, four lid materials named
$7AUD, from $14 View on kmart.com.au
53 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food53/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Brilliant Basics Double Wall Soft Touch Bottle 500ml (Big W)

Stainless steel, grade not stated · “velvety-soft exterior” coating not stated · lid not stated

Fine

Stainless steel is the interior, and that is genuinely the right material. Everything else about this bottle is undeclared.

A “velvety-soft exterior” is a coating on a drink bottle, and its composition is not published. Neither is the “leak-proof lid” or any gasket.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Hand wash only; do not microwave
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No steel grade. No 18/8, no 304, no food-grade designation — on a $6 double-walled insulated bottle, which is the price point where grade matters most. [1]
  • The soft-touch exterior finish is the sort of applied polymer layer that a buyer avoiding coatings would want named. It is not. [1]
  • “Hand wash only. Do not microwave.” No warranty, no country of manufacture, no testing. [1]
  • No BPA claim, on a bottle with an unnamed plastic lid. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Big W — Brilliant Basics Double Wall Soft Touch Water Bottle 500ml
42 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food34/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Oasis Capri Ceramic Lined Insulated Bottle 750ml

Stainless steel, grade not published · ceramic interior coating, composition not published · spout not named

Read the caveats

The whole selling point is the ceramic lining, and nothing about the lining is published — no chemistry, no leach testing, no standard.

The steel grade is not given either, and the push-button spout you drink through has no stated material.

They claim
No BPA, PFAS or lead claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Ceramic lined” is a disclosure black hole across this whole category. Both ceramic bottles we scored sell the lining as the feature and publish nothing about it. [1] [2]
  • No BPA claim at all on this product — unusual, given a plastic push-button lid. [1]
  • A copper lining is mentioned as part of the insulation. Its relationship to the food-contact surface is not explained. [1]
  • No country of manufacture, no warranty, no dishwasher guidance. Oasis has no functioning brand site we could reach. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Shop Naturally — Oasis Capri Ceramic Lined Insulated Bottle 750ml
  2. Everyday Rewards — the same bottle
$29.95AUD on sale, RRP $52.95 View on shopnaturally.com.au
35 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Décor Quad Bands Tritan Bottle 750ml (Big W)

Tritan copolyester, named in the product title · lid and seal materials not published

Read the caveats

Included to make a point about house brands. This is a branded bottle sitting on a Big W shelf, and it names its polymer in the product title.

Big W’s own Transparent Guzzler, a clear plastic bottle at $5 on the same shelf, names nothing at all. Same category, same price, and the house brand is the one that tells you less.

They claim
Tritan is marketed as BPA-free
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Tritan is a trade name for a copolyester. It is a named plastic, which is a real answer, but no grade or food-contact standard is cited. [1]
  • Lid and gasket materials not published. [1]
  • Tritan is marketed on being BPA-free. That excludes BPA and says nothing about the other monomers in a copolyester. [1]
  • The pattern generalises: across Big W, Kmart and Target, the branded goods on the shelf disclose more than the house brands beside them, at the same price. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Big W — Décor Quad Bands Tritan Bottle 750ml
  2. Big W — Brilliant Basics Transparent Guzzler Drink Bottle 1L, no material named
34 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food26/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

frank green Ceramic Bottle 1L

Over 90% recycled stainless · “nano ceramic lined” interior · lid material not specified

Read the caveats

The most recognisable Australian bottle brand, and the interior lining is described as “nano ceramic” — a trade description, not a material.

The claim that does the most work is “FDA & EU approved safe”, which names two regimes and cites nothing from either.

They claim
"BPA-free. FDA & EU approved safe."
Made in
UNVERIFIED — “Australia Designed and Owned”
Warranty
See their warranty page
Heat
Not stated
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “FDA & EU approved safe” is doing a lot with four words. The FDA does not approve drink bottles; it regulates food-contact substances. No standard number, approval reference or report is given for either jurisdiction. [1]
  • “Nano ceramic lined” is a trade description. What the lining actually is, and how it is applied, is not published. [1]
  • “Australia Designed and Owned” appears where a country of manufacture would go. Designed and owned is not made. [1]
  • Lid material not specified — and on a bottle the lid is the part your mouth touches. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. frank green ceramic reusable bottle 1L
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Brilliant Basics Single Sipper Bottle 750ml (Big W)

Nothing stated — body, straw and lid all unnamed

Avoid

A flip-up straw built into the lid, and no material named for the body, the straw or the lid.

The straw is the single most intimate food-contact part of any drink bottle. It goes in your mouth. Big W does not say what it is.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Hand wash only; not for microwave or hot liquids
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “A modern matte finish” is a coating, and its composition is not published either. [1]
  • No BPA claim of any kind. [1]
  • “Not suitable for microwave and hot liquids” — a temperature restriction on an unnamed plastic, which is the shape of a polymer limit nobody will describe. [1]
  • The safety warning is worth reading: “Not suitable for children under 3. Functional small parts included. Throw away at the first signs of weakness.” [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Big W — Brilliant Basics Single Sipper Bottle 750ml
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Openook Insulated Bottle 950ml (Big W)

Nothing stated — the page never says steel, plastic or anything else

Avoid

Sold and merchandised as an insulated bottle, and the page never states whether it is vacuum steel or double-wall plastic.

Those are completely different products with completely different answers, and Big W leaves the buyer to guess.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Hand wash only; cold liquids only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Flip spout” — material not published. This is the mouth-contact part. [1]
  • An insulated bottle restricted to “Only suitable for cold liquids”. Insulation and a cold-only restriction sit oddly together, and the absence of a stated material is probably why. [1]
  • “Not suitable for perishable liquids. Not suitable for children under 3. Functional small parts included.” [1]
  • No BPA claim, no warranty, no country of manufacture, no testing. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Big W — Openook Insulated Bottle 950ml
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Brilliant Basics Transparent Guzzler Bottle 1L (Big W)

Nothing stated — the page names no material whatsoever

Avoid

A transparent one-litre plastic drink bottle with no stated polymer and no BPA claim.

It sits on the same shelf as a Décor Tritan bottle at $5.75 that names its plastic in the product title. The seventy-five-cent difference buys you an answer.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Volume markers, a one-touch button lid and a carry handle are all described. No material is. [1]
  • No BPA claim — on a clear plastic bottle, which is the exact product category the BPA question was invented for. [1]
  • Lid and carry handle materials not published. [1]
  • No care instructions, no warranty, no country of manufacture, no testing. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Big W — Brilliant Basics Transparent Guzzler Drink Bottle 1L
  2. Big W — Décor Quad Bands Tritan Bottle 750ml

The sealing dot, explained properly

If you have seen alarming posts about lead in stainless water bottles, this is what they are about — and it is worth getting right, because it is usually told badly in both directions.

A vacuum-insulated bottle has two walls with the air drawn out between them. The air is evacuated through a small hole in the base, which then has to be sealed. The industry-standard seal has historically been a solder dot containing lead. It sits on the outside of the bottle’s base, under a cap.

What this does and does not mean

The independent tester who publicised the issue is explicit about the exposure route: “the water or other liquid inside the bottles is NOT exposed to the Lead sealing dot on the outside”. The concern is exposure if the covering cap is damaged or worn through — not ordinary drinking.

And the testing behind these reports is XRF, which measures how much of an element is present in the material scanned. It does not measure how much gets into your drink. That is a real limitation, and it cuts both ways: it does not make the readings meaningless, and it does not make them evidence of exposure.

Where the brands stand

Hydro Flask says it moved away from the industry-standard sealing process in 2012. Rubin’s testing describes pre-2018 Hydro Flasks as having leaded dots while naming post-2018 ones as consistently lead-free. Both accounts cannot be exactly right, and we found no reconciliation — but on the current product they agree.

Klean Kanteen says all its products are lead-free and that its insulated line uses silica or glass plugs rather than solder. Rubin disputes this for the insulated bottles and recommends only the non-insulated ones. We found no company response to her specifically.

The easy way out

A single-wall bottle has no vacuum seal, so it has no sealing dot, so the entire argument does not apply to it. It will not keep drinks cold, which for a school water bottle usually matters less than people expect.

The other thing worth checking, and rarely mentioned: whether the steel has an interior lining. Some bottles are lined with plastic or epoxy inside the steel. The ones we rate here are not.

Our position

We are not telling you insulated bottles are dangerous — the evidence does not support that. We are saying that if the question bothers you, single wall removes it for about ten dollars, and that is a cheaper answer than worrying.

Keep reading

All 168 products in one table  ·  Which brands publish anything at all  ·  All guides

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list isn’t open yet — email us and we’ll add you when it is.