MessyPig

36 checked · last checked 29 September 2026

Glass food storage containers — and the lids nobody declares

Scored on what they are made of — and most of the glass sold in Australia does not say what kind of glass it is, including sets marketed as oven safe.

Glass storage jars and rectangular containers with bamboo lids holding rice, pasta, lentils, oats, seeds and dried beans
Cookware (47)Lunchboxes (27)Food storage (36)Bottles (28)Air fryers (30)

The short version

  • Glass removes the question — heat plus plastic is the combination that actually has evidence behind it.
  • Two glasses, and makers rarely say which. Tempered soda-lime is the norm; borosilicate handles thermal shock better.
  • The lid is the food-contact part everyone forgets, and almost nobody names the resin.
  • The most-bought brand here won’t tell you what its glass is. That’s the finding.
  • Never put hot glass on a cold or wet surface. It’s the reason for every warning on the box.
Why, in full ↓

The 36 we’ve checked

We score what it’s made of, so you don’t have to read the small print

Every score below is out of 100 for the materials — mostly what actually touches your food (60 points), then the lids, seals and handles (25), and whether the maker can back the materials claim up (15).

80–100 bare, inert materials 60–79 mostly inert 40–59 coated, or plastic in contact 0–39 coated, plastic, or unnamed

Bare stainless, cast iron and glass score highest because there is nothing applied to them that can come off. Coatings score lower the less the maker will say about them, and a product whose materials are never named cannot score at all — you can’t call something inert if nobody will tell you what it is.

This is not a safety rating. We run no laboratory. A low score means the food meets a coating or a plastic, or that nobody will say what it meets — which is worth knowing, and is not the same as something being wrong with it. How we score, in full

Ranked by score. Nothing here is a paid link — we are not in any affiliate programme.

87 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up6/15
Best material here

U-Konserve Rectangle Stainless Container 740ml

18/8 stainless · platinum-cure silicone lid meeting EU LFGB · the lid IS the seal

Best material

The only food storage container in this table that names its silicone cure type and cites a standard: “platinum-grade, food-grade silicone that pass strict EU LFGB standards”.

The silicone lid is also the seal, so there is no separate unnamed gasket hiding in the design. Two named materials, and that is the whole product.

They claim
"Free of BPA, BPS, phthalates and lead"
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
150°C; top-rack dishwasher; freezer safe; no microwave
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Tested by CPSIA-accredited independent labs to ensure that they are free of BPA, BPS and phthalates” — the lab class is named, the specific lab and report are not. [1] [2]
  • PFAS is not addressed either way. [2]
  • “Responsibly made in China”, stated. [2]
  • The only non-glass container in this category publishing an oven ceiling in degrees: “Containers are oven safe up to 150 degrees C”. Not for microwave, being steel. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. U-Konserve Australia — Rectangle Food Storage Container 740ml
  2. U-Konserve — product information
$49.95AUD incl. GST View on u-konserve.com.au
81 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

Seed & Sprout Stainless and Glass Containers, Set of 5

304 stainless base · “semi-tempered soda lime glass” · silicone lid

Buy it

“Semi-tempered soda lime glass” is the most precise glass disclosure of any product in this category — they name the chemistry and the treatment level.

The chemical exclusion list is also the broadest we found anywhere: BPA, phthalates, cadmium, mercury, PVC, dioxin, GenX, PFAS, and the D4 and D5 siloxanes.

They claim
"no BPA, phthalates, cadmium, fillers, mercury, PVC, dioxin, GenX and PFAS"; "do not have D4 and D5"
Made in
China, with Australian partners stated at brand level
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Oven safe, lid removed; no ceiling given
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • They are the only brand in this entire table that names siloxanes. For a silicone-lidded product that is the relevant residual question and nobody else touches it. [2]
  • But their own FAQ says the glass containers are “borosilicate glass”, while this product page says semi-tempered soda lime. Those are different materials with different thermal-shock behaviour. Either the FAQ over-claims or the range mixes both, and the brand does not resolve it. [1] [2]
  • The FAQ cites “LFGB-certified silicone seals”; the product page does not repeat it, and no certificate is published. [1] [2]
  • “Oven safe but remove the lid” with no temperature ceiling. Made in China, with some manufacturing stated as Australian at brand level. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Seed & Sprout Rectangle Stainless Steel and Glass Containers Set of 5
  2. Seed & Sprout product FAQ — which says borosilicate
$196AUD, was $219 View on seedandsprout.com
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Pyrex Zero Plastic Rectangular Container 0.8L (David Jones)

Borosilicate glass base AND borosilicate glass lid · seal material not published

Buy it

The only product in this entire Australian table where the food-contact surface and the lid are the same declared material: “The base and the lid are made from borosilicate Pyrex glass, all made in France.”

Nothing to leach, nothing to degrade, nothing to swap for a substitute when a chemical goes out of fashion. Every other storage container here has a plastic lid, named or otherwise.

They claim
No claim needed on glass; none made
Made in
France — all made in France
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published on the collection page
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • It is called “Zero Plastic” and the seal is not disclosed. A glass-on-glass lid still needs a gasket, and Pyrex does not say what it is — which quietly undercuts the name. [1]
  • Worth knowing about the Pyrex brand generally: the European product is borosilicate and the US product is tempered soda-lime. They are different glasses under one name, and Australian shelves carry both. [1] [2]
  • No warranty, oven rating or dishwasher guidance published on the collection page. [1]
  • David Jones was unreachable to us — every product page returns a bot challenge rather than content — so the DJ price and listing wording could not be checked. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Pyrex Pure Glass / Zero Plastic collection
  2. Pyrex US — “BPA-free plastic” lid for the Simply Store range
  3. David Jones listing (page returns a bot challenge)
Not publishedAUD; David Jones pages were unreachable View on pyrex.co.uk
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Ever Eco Round Nesting Containers, 3 Piece

304 stainless · food grade polypropylene lids · gasket not published

Buy it

304 named for the body and polypropylene named for the lids — two real materials, which puts it ahead of most of this category.

The gap is the gasket. These are sold as leak-proof, which requires one, and its material is never stated.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher for lids; no other guidance
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The gasket is in constant contact with food and it is the one component with no name. That pattern — body named, lid named, seal silent — recurs across the category. [1]
  • “BPA free” excludes BPA only. Nothing on BPS, phthalates or PFAS. [1]
  • No oven, freezer or microwave guidance at all. The only care line is “Dishwasher safe (top rack only for lids)”. [1]
  • No certification, no country of manufacture, no warranty. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Ever Eco Round Nesting Containers, Pastel Collection, 3 Piece Set
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Décor Premium Glass Clips Oblong 1L (Myer)

Borosilicate glass · removable silicone seal · lid polymer not published

Buy it

Names the glass as borosilicate rather than just “glass”, and names the seal as removable silicone. Two real material facts for ten dollars.

Also rated “Air Fryer Safe Base”, which is unusual and useful — most glass storage says nothing about air fryers at all.

They claim
"BPA Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Oven safe base; air fryer safe base; dishwasher, fridge, freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • The lid polymer is not named. For a buyer trying to avoid plastic, the lid is the part that matters most, and it is the one part Décor leaves out. [1]
  • “BPA Free” is the chemical claim. That excludes one monomer and says nothing about BPS, BPF or phthalates in whatever the lid is made of. [1]
  • Décor is an Australian brand and the page does not say where this is made. [1]
  • No warranty published. No third-party testing. [1]
  • Myer lists it and publishes no material information — not borosilicate, not the silicone seal. The material facts above all come from Décor. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Décor Premium Glass Clips Oblong 1L
  2. Myer listing
$10.47AUD, RRP $20.95 View on decor.com.au
70 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Lock & Lock Top Class Glass Container

“Color-free glass (for oven)”, chemistry not published · Tritan lid, named · silicone rubber packing

Buy it

The lid is named as Tritan and the seal as “rubber(silicone rubber)” — both real answers, and rare ones.

The glass is the problem. It is claimed to withstand 400°C and its chemistry is never stated.

They claim
"Safe and BPA free Tritan lid"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Claimed to 400°C, body only; dishwasher safe including lid
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • A 400°C claim with no named glass chemistry is the most aggressive unsupported thermal claim in this category. Borosilicate and tempered soda-lime behave very differently at that temperature and the page does not say which this is. [1]
  • “Oven safe (Body only)”, microwave safe, “Dishwasher safe (including lid)”, freezer to −20°C. The guidance is good; the material behind it is not given. [1]
  • “Safe and BPA free Tritan lid” — the BPA claim covers the lid only, and Tritan is BPA-free by design. [1]
  • No country of manufacture and no certification on the product page. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Lock & Lock — Top Class glass food storage
$249.95AUD for the 9-piece set at House View on locknlock.com
70 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

IKEA 365+ Food Container with Lid, glass 1.2L

“Heat resistant glass” — type not published · polypropylene lid · silicone rubber seal

Buy it

IKEA declares both plastics precisely — “Polypropylene plastic” for the lid, “Silicone rubber” for the seal — and then declines to say what the glass is.

“Heat resistant glass” is a performance word, not a material. That omission is conspicuous from a company whose materials disclosure is otherwise among the best on this list.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim; the polymers are named instead
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
365-day returns; no product warranty stated
Heat
Oven safe without lid, no ceiling; lid to 100°C; freezer and dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The temperature guidance has the same shape: “The lid is microwave-safe; heat food up to 100°C” gives a ceiling for the lid, while “The container is oven-safe, but the lid is not” gives no ceiling for the glass at all. [1]
  • No BPA, PFAS or chemical claim of any kind — which is at least consistent with naming the polymers instead of making claims about them. [1]
  • No country of manufacture and no certification. [1]
  • Its all-plastic sibling is the benchmark for this category: polypropylene body, polypropylene lid, silicone rubber seal, all three food-contact parts named. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. IKEA Australia — 365+ food container with lid, glass/plastic
  2. IKEA Australia — 365+ container, all plastic, all three parts named
$7.99AUD, varies by size View on ikea.com
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Décor Vent & Seal Glass Container 1L

Borosilicate glass base · food-safe TPE seal · lid material not specified

Buy it

Names borosilicate specifically — which, remarkably, makes it clearer about its own glass than Pyrex is.

Also names the seal material as TPE rather than hiding behind “food safe plastic”.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
UNVERIFIED
Heat
Not stated
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The lid material is not specified beyond being clear and flat-rimmed. The lid is a food-contact part. [1]
  • No country of manufacture stated on the product page. Décor is an Australian company and the site references an Australian Made page we could not reach — worth checking, because if it is locally made that is worth two points it is currently not getting. [1]
  • No third-party testing published. [1]
  • Décor defers to retailers for price, so there is no manufacturer price to quote. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Décor Vent & Seal glass container 1L
UNVERIFIEDsold through Big W View on decor.com.au
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Ovela 9 Piece Glass Container Set (Kogan)

Borosilicate glass · lid described only as “Leak-proof lid”, no material given

Buy it

“Material: Borosilicate glass”, rated −40°C to 400°C. A properly named glass at thirty dollars for nine pieces.

Then the lid field reads “Lid Type: Leak-proof lid”. That is a feature typed into a material box — and the lid sits against your food in the fridge.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Claimed to 400°C; dishwasher, microwave, freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • A leak-proof lid necessarily has a plastic body and a gasket. Neither is disclosed: no polypropylene, no Tritan, no silicone, nothing. [1]
  • No BPA statement at all on a plastic-lidded storage set, where “BPA-free” is near-universal marketing. Its absence where the claim would be cheap is worth noting. [1]
  • “Oven Safe: Yes” to 400°C is stated for the set. The lid is certainly not oven safe and the page never scopes the claim to the glass. [1]
  • The −40°C to 400°C range is asserted with no standard cited. One-year warranty. Country of manufacture not published. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Ovela 9 Piece Glass Container Set
$29.99AUD, Kogan FIRST price; $89.99 otherwise View on kogan.com
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

PYREX Cook & Freeze Rectangle Storage 4L

Borosilicate glass, made in France · BPA-free lid, resin not published

Buy it

“Made from high quality borosilicate glass”, made in France, rated −40°C to +300°C with thermal shock resistance to 220°C. That is a complete, checkable specification.

It is also the key to the Pyrex puzzle in Australia, which nobody seems to have written down: the warranty tells you which glass you are buying.

They claim
"BPA free lid"
Made in
France (stated)
Warranty
10 years on the glass, 2 on the lid
Heat
−40°C to +300°C; thermal shock to 220°C; lid not for oven or microwave
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Pyrex’s Australian distributor publishes the rule outright: “Pyrex® made in the US (Soda-lime glass) and China (Borosilicate glass)” carry a two-year warranty, while “PYREX® made in France” carries ten years. So in Australia a 10-year warranty means French borosilicate and a 2-year warranty means US soda-lime or Chinese borosilicate. [2]
  • Their own comparison, verbatim: “Soda lime is slightly more resistant to impact breakage than borosilicate, and borosilicate is more resistant to extreme thermal changes than soda lime.” Neither is better; they fail differently. [2]
  • The lid is “BPA free” and its resin is not named. The lid contacts food, so we treat it as a food-contact part. [1]
  • No gasket — and they say so: “Non-leakproof product”, “not suitable for transporting liquid foods”. Honest. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Global Kitchen Brands Australia — PYREX Cook & Freeze 4L
  2. Global Kitchen Brands — Pyrex support, the glass-by-origin rule
$41.97AUD, RRP $59.95 View on globalkitchenbrands.com.au
66 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Glasslock Oven Safe Tempered Glass Range

“Heat-resistant, recyclable glass” — no type, no temperature · lid and seal not published

Fine

A range literally named “Oven Safe”, and no oven temperature is published anywhere on the Australian site.

The range page does not even use the word “tempered”, despite it being in the product titles.

They claim
"BPA FREE"
Made in
Korea (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
No temperature published for the oven-safe range
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Its own sibling makes the gap obvious. The Glasslock Classic line is explicitly rated −20°C to 120°C. The Oven Safe line, sold alongside it, gives no number at all. [2]
  • The base glass chemistry is not published for either line — not soda-lime, not borosilicate. Glasslock’s European site says only “high-quality tempered glass”. [1] [2]
  • Lid resin not published. The oven-safe models are distinguished by a red sealing ring whose material is implied to be silicone and never stated. [1]
  • “Made in Korea”. The Red Dot, iF and Good Design awards the brand cites are design awards, not materials testing. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Glasslock Australia — Oven Safe range
  2. Glasslock Australia — Classic 1090ml, rated −20°C to 120°C
$12.90AUD 485ml; to $30.20 for the 2.2L baking dish View on glasslock.com.au
65 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food40/60
The rest25/25
Backed up0/15

Ziploc Endurables Large Reusable Silicone Pouch

“Durable, reusable platinum silicone” — cure type named, no standard body cited

Fine

“Platinum silicone” — the cure type is named, which is the harder and more meaningful half of a silicone disclosure, and almost nobody gives it.

One material throughout, with the zipper being the same silicone, so there is no separate unnamed gasket.

They claim
"made without BPA or Phthalates"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
425°F (≈218°C), vented; microwave vented; dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No standard body is cited — no LFGB, no FDA reference, no EC 1935/2004 — so the platinum-cure claim is the maker’s word. [1]
  • “Made without BPA or Phthalates” excludes two classes and is silent on PFAS, BPS and residual siloxanes. For a silicone product the siloxane question is the relevant one, and only Seed & Sprout addresses it anywhere in this table. [1] [2]
  • The Australian page quotes its temperature ceiling in Fahrenheit only: “Heat Safe silicone can be used in temperatures up to 425° F” — about 218°C. On an Australian site that is a small but real usability failure. [1]
  • No country of manufacture, no certification, no warranty. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Ziploc Australia — Endurables Large Pouch
  2. Seed & Sprout product FAQ — the only brand naming D4 and D5 siloxanes
Not publishedAUD; sold at View on ziploc.com.au
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Anko Set of 5 500ml Glass Containers (Kmart / Target)

“Clear glass bases”, glass type not stated · “BPA-free lids”, polymer not stated

Fine

Glass is the right material and the page will not say which glass. There is no material field at all — only contents, capacity, dimensions and colour.

That matters here more than usual, because the set is marketed for freezer-to-oven use. Untempered soda-lime glass can fail under that thermal shock, and borosilicate will not.

They claim
"The BPA-free lids provide a general food-safe option"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Glass base oven and microwave safe, lid removed; dishwasher and freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Kmart identifies the glass type — “Borosilicate glass” — on its $9 lunchbox, and does not identify it on this $20 oven-rated storage set. The template can do it. This listing does not. [2]
  • “BPA-Free Construction: The BPA-free lids provide a general food-safe option”. The lid polymer is never named, and the lid is a food-contact part. [1]
  • No seal or gasket material given, despite “an airtight and watertight closure”. [1]
  • “Do not wash the lid with a rough tool such as steel wool” is the only lid care guidance, on a lid of unstated composition. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Kmart — Set of 5 500ml Glass Food Storage Containers
  2. Kmart — Glass Bento Lunch Box, which does say borosilicate
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Anko Set of 12 Glass Food Storage Containers (Target)

Glass, type not stated · lids and gaskets not stated · materials field reads “12PC GLASS FOOD STORAGE”

Fine

Target’s “Materials and Composition” field for this set contains the words “12PC GLASS FOOD STORAGE”. That is a product code in a materials box.

Sold as oven safe with no glass type and no temperature limit — which is exactly the pair of facts a buyer needs and exactly the pair that is missing.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
“Oven safe” with no ceiling; lid must be removed
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Not even a BPA claim, which every other Anko plastic-lidded product carries. On this set there is no chemical statement of any kind. [1]
  • “Oven safe” and “Microwave safe” appear as unqualified bullets, and the care text then forbids the lid in either. The lid is neither, and the bullets do not say so. [1]
  • Twelve pieces means twelve bases. The twelve lids are not counted — unlike the 15-piece plastic set, which does count its lids. [1] [2]
  • Target’s sibling $20 five-piece set does carry a “BPA-free” claim, on a product whose only unnamed component is the lid. BPA is irrelevant to glass, so that claim can only be about a plastic the page refuses to name. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Target — Anko Set of 12 Glass Food Storage Containers
  2. Target — Anko Food Container Set 15 Piece
  3. Target — Anko Set of 5 500ml Glass Containers
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Pyrex Simply Store Rectangular 2.6L (David Jones)

Glass base, type not stated · “BPA-free plastic” lid, resin never named

Fine

The same brand that sells an all-borosilicate “Zero Plastic” range also sells this, with a plastic lid described only as “BPA-free plastic”.

Two very different products under one name, sold in the same David Jones category, with no explanation of which glass is in which.

They claim
"BPA-free plastic" — lid only
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher, freezer and microwave safe (lid)
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA-free plastic” names one excluded chemical and discloses nothing about what is present — no polypropylene, no resin code, no BPS or BPF statement. [1]
  • The glass type is not stated on the Australian-facing listings. Pyrex Europe is borosilicate; Pyrex US is tempered soda-lime. The name does not tell you which you have. [1] [2]
  • The lid contacts food, so we score it as a food-contact part of unstated composition rather than as trim. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not stated. No third-party testing. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Pyrex US — Simply Store lid
  2. Pyrex Pure Glass — the all-borosilicate range from the same brand
Not publishedAUD; David Jones pages were unreachable View on pyrexhome.com
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Snapware Total Solution Pyrex Glass Square 4 Cup

Tempered glass, type not stated on the page · four-latch plastic lid, resin not named

Fine

“Stain-resistant tempered glass” and “Made in the USA” — which, by the distributor’s own published rule, means soda-lime. The page never says so.

You have to cross-reference the Pyrex support page to work out what you are buying, and almost nobody will.

They claim
Lid family stated free of "BPA, BPS, BVP, Latex, Phthalate, Polycarbonate, Polychlorinated Vinyl, Polystyrene, PFAS, or PVC"
Made in
USA (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED on the Australian page
Heat
Oven safe, no ceiling given; lid not for oven
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The distributor does publish an unusually complete lid exclusion list for the Pyrex family: no “BPA, BPS, BVP, Latex, Phthalate, Polycarbonate, Polychlorinated Vinyl, Polystyrene, PFAS, or PVC”. That is one of the broadest exclusions in this table — and it still does not say what the resin is. [2]
  • Gasket material not published, on a four-latch container sold as sealed. [1]
  • “Made in the USA”, stated. Snapware carries a lifetime warranty against defects per the US brand site; the Australian page does not repeat it. [1]
  • Glass is microwave, oven, fridge, freezer and dishwasher safe; plastic lids microwave, freezer and top-rack dishwasher. No temperature ceiling given. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Global Kitchen Brands Australia — Snapware TS Glass Square 4 Cup
  2. Global Kitchen Brands — Pyrex support page
$13.99AUD, RRP $19.99 View on globalkitchenbrands.com.au
55 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food47/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Pyrex Simply Store (Australian stock)

Glass type NOT resolved · the ANZ distributor lists three origins and two different glass chemistries

They won't say

In the US, Pyrex simply will not say what its glass is. In Australia it is stranger: the distributor’s own support page lists three possible answers and does not say which one you are buying.

Soda-lime from the US, borosilicate from China, borosilicate from France. Those are not interchangeable — they behave differently under thermal shock.

They claim
"comply with all applicable federal and state safety regulations"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — three listed, none assigned to AU stock
Warranty
UNVERIFIED
Heat
Preheated oven only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • This is worse than silence, because it demonstrates the information exists and is simply not connected to the product in front of you. Australian stock could be any of the three. [1]
  • The testing claim is real but unsubstantiated: “we routinely test our Pyrex products for harmful lead and cadmium content at internationally recognized, third-party laboratories”. No laboratory named, no result published. [1]
  • The ANZ page cites FDA compliance for the plastic lids — a US standard, on an Australian page, where neither FSANZ nor any Australian rule is mentioned. [1]
  • Practical consequence: if you do not know whether your dish is soda-lime or borosilicate, treat it as soda-lime and never put it on a cold or wet surface while hot. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Global Kitchen Brands ANZ — Pyrex support and origins page
UNVERIFIEDBig W and Kmart View on globalkitchenbrands.com.au
53 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food53/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Pyrex Originals 4.5L Oblong Baking Dish

“Durable high-quality tempered glass” · made in USA, which by the distributor’s rule means soda-lime

Fine

Sold as oven-safe with no temperature ceiling and no named glass chemistry on the page.

This is the other half of the Pyrex story. “Made in USA” plus the distributor’s own rule means soda-lime — more impact-resistant, less thermal-shock resistant than the French borosilicate sold under the same brand.

They claim
No chemical claim; none needed on bare glass
Made in
USA (stated)
Warranty
2 years per the distributor’s support page
Heat
Preheated oven only, no ceiling published; not for stovetop or air fryer
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The same brand name covers two different glasses in the same Australian catalogue. The warranty length is the tell: ten years means French borosilicate, two years means US soda-lime or Chinese borosilicate. [2]
  • “Avoid extreme temperature changes” and “Always preheat oven before inserting glassware” are exactly the instructions soda-lime needs, without the page ever saying that is what it is. [1]
  • Not for stovetop, grill, toaster oven or air fryer — stated, and worth knowing given how many people now own an air fryer. [1]
  • “Made in USA”, stated. No lid, so no lid question. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Global Kitchen Brands Australia — Pyrex Originals 4.5L Oblong
  2. Global Kitchen Brands — Pyrex support, the glass-by-origin rule
$26.39AUD, RRP $32.99 View on globalkitchenbrands.com.au
47 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food34/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

CorningWare French White 1.4L Round Covered Casserole

“Durable stoneware material” · glaze composition not published · glass cover type not published

Read the caveats

Stoneware with a glaze, and the glaze is the food-contact surface. Its composition is not published, and neither is any lead or cadmium testing.

For a glazed ceramic vessel that is the material fact that matters most, and it is absent.

They claim
No lead, cadmium or glaze statement
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Preheated oven, no ceiling; dishwasher, fridge, freezer and microwave safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The brand story sells Pyroceram’s freezer-to-oven heritage — “the original glass-ceramic material, Pyroceram, was a marvel of engineering, designed in the 1950s” — while the product actually sold is stoneware, which the same page concedes is an expanded formula. Different material, different thermal behaviour. [1] [2]
  • “Oven safe (preheated oven)” with no temperature ceiling. [1]
  • The glass cover’s type is not published. [1]
  • No country of manufacture and no warranty on the page. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Global Kitchen Brands Australia — CorningWare French White 1.4L
  2. Global Kitchen Brands — CorningWare brand page
$29.97AUD, RRP $49.95 View on globalkitchenbrands.com.au
45 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food22/60
The rest17/25
Backed up6/15

Lock & Lock Classic Polypropylene Container

Polypropylene body AND lid · hollow silicone packing — all three named

Fine

Polypropylene named for the body, polypropylene named for the lid, silicone named for the seal. Every food-contact part identified — which almost no plastic container in this table manages.

It is also the only product here whose maker cites a European consumer-lab result.

They claim
"Bisphenol A free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave, freezer and dishwasher safe; no temperature range
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Öko-Test awarded it “sehr gut” across twelve categories including food safety, airtightness and durability. Worth knowing what that is: Öko-Test is a German consumer magazine, not an accreditation body, so it is a published test result rather than a certification. [1]
  • “Bisphenol A free” is the chemical claim. BPA only; nothing on BPS, phthalates or PFAS. [1]
  • No temperature range published for microwave use. [1]
  • No country of manufacture on the product page. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Lock & Lock — Classic food storage range
$9.95AUD 450ml at House; to $16.99 for 1.5L View on locknlock.com
39 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 15 Piece Food Container Set (Kmart / Target)

“Material: Polypropylene (PP)” · lid and seal not separately specified

Fine

Names the polymer, which puts it ahead of most of the plastic storage in this table. Polypropylene is a specific, checkable answer.

No grade, no standard, no seal material — but the resin is on the page, and that is the question that matters.

They claim
"Crafted from BPA-free plastic"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher, microwave and freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Crafted from BPA-free plastic, these food containers are safe for daily use”. Polypropylene never contained BPA in the first place, so the claim is true and tells you nothing. The safety conclusion is drawn from a single absent substance. [1]
  • Kmart’s own 13-piece set at $10 sits at the same shelf position and names no polymer at all — only “BPA-free plastic”. Two directly comparable products, two different disclosure standards. [2]
  • No lid or gasket material is separately given; the single field covers the whole set. [1]
  • Target lists the same product with a size range including “8.5L” alongside 1.5L, 1L, 500ml and 250ml — almost certainly a typo for 850ml, in a $14 set. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Kmart — 15 Piece Food Container Set
  2. Kmart — 13 Piece Food Storage Set, no polymer named
  3. Target — Food Container Set 15 Piece
39 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 2.5L Food Container (Kmart)

“Material: Polypropylene (PP)” · lid not separately specified

Fine

Two dollars, and it names the polymer. Polypropylene, stated plainly in the materials field.

That is a better answer than Big W gives on any of its plastic storage, at any price.

They claim
"Crafted from BPA-free plastic"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave, freezer and top-rack dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The title and capacity field say 2.5L. The first sentence of the description says “This 2L Food Container”. A plain copy error on a live page, and a reminder of how these listings are assembled. [1]
  • “Crafted from BPA-free plastic” on polypropylene, which never contained BPA. [1]
  • Lid material not separately named. No grade or food-contact standard cited for the PP. [1]
  • No warranty, no country of manufacture, no third-party testing. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Kmart — 2.5L Food Container
39 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

IKEA 365+ Food Container with Lid, plastic 4.2L

Polypropylene body · polypropylene lid · silicone rubber seal — all three named

Fine

Six dollars, and all three food-contact parts are named: polypropylene, polypropylene, silicone rubber.

This is the benchmark disclosure for a plastic container, and it comes from the cheapest product in the category.

They claim
No chemical claim; the polymers are named instead
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
365-day returns
Heat
Freezer and dishwasher safe; microwave suitable, no limit given
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No grade or food-contact standard for the polypropylene, and no cure type for the silicone. [1]
  • No BPA or PFAS claim of any kind. IKEA names the polymers instead of making claims about them, which is the right way round. [1]
  • No temperature limit published for microwave use. [1]
  • No country of manufacture, no certification, no warranty beyond 365-day returns. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. IKEA Australia — 365+ food container with lid, rectangular, plastic 4.2L
$5.99AUD View on ikea.com
35 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Sistema Klip It

Polypropylene containers · lid seal material not named

Fine

Made in New Zealand and says so, which in this category is worth real points.

The material disclosure is thinner — polypropylene appears in the page metadata rather than the copy, and the seal is not named at all.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
New Zealand (containers) — stated
Warranty
UNVERIFIED
Heat
Not stated
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Watch the split: Sistema states food storage containers are “Made in New Zealand” but its drink bottles are “Designed in New Zealand, Manufactured in Malaysia”. Do not apply the NZ claim across the whole range. [1]
  • The on-page description is “durable, food-safe materials” — which is not a material. [1]
  • “BPA free” is a company-level claim rather than a per-product one. [1]
  • No third-party testing or laboratory named. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Sistema Klip It range
  2. Sistema food storage — the New Zealand manufacturing statement
UNVERIFIEDKmart and Big W View on sistemaplastics.com
33 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Essentials For You 12-Piece Food Storage Set (Kogan)

“100% BPA-free plastic & silicone” — the polymer is never named · silicone seal named

Read the caveats

“Food-grade BPA-free plastic” is the entire disclosure. A negative claim standing in for a positive identification.

Crystal-clear rigid plastic that is BPA-free is usually SAN or Tritan copolyester. Kogan does not say, so we do not either.

They claim
"100% BPA-free plastic & silicone"; "food-grade BPA-free plastic"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Microwave, dishwasher and freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “100% BPA-free” excludes BPA. It does not exclude BPS, BPF or the other bisphenol analogues that are the standard substitutes, and it does not exclude phthalates or PFAS. It is the narrowest chemical claim available. [1]
  • “Food-grade” is asserted with no standard — no AS/NZS, no FDA, no LFGB, no EC 1935/2004 — and no laboratory. [1]
  • Microwave-safe is claimed for a plastic whose polymer is unnamed. Microwave behaviour is entirely polymer-dependent, so the claim cannot be assessed from the page. [1]
  • The “airtight silicone seal” is named, and it contacts food. The container holding the food is not. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Kogan — 12-Piece BPA-Free Food Storage Containers
$39.99AUD, Kogan FIRST price; $79.99 otherwise View on kogan.com
29 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 13 Piece Food Storage Set (Kmart)

“BPA-free plastic” — no polymer named, no material field on the page

Read the caveats

Kmart names polypropylene on its 15-piece set and its $2 container. On this one, at the same shelf position, the specification block has no material field at all.

“Made from BPA-free plastic, these containers offer a food-safe solution” is the whole of it.

They claim
"Made from BPA-free plastic"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave, freezer and dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Disclosure inconsistency inside one retailer’s own range is the pattern worth watching. The template supports a material field. Whether it gets filled in appears to depend on the supplier, not the product. [1] [2]
  • “Secure Snap-On Lids” — lid material not published. [1]
  • Microwave and freezer safe are claimed for an unnamed polymer. [1]
  • No warranty, no country of manufacture, no third-party testing. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Kmart — 13 Piece Food Storage Set
  2. Kmart — 15 Piece Food Container Set, polymer named
29 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Brilliant Basics Clip Lock Food Container 1.1L (Big W)

“BPA free” — no resin named anywhere on the page · lid and gasket not stated

Read the caveats

“Stackable and clear” and “BPA Free”. No polymer named, no lid material, no gasket material.

And the specification block states “Volume: 11L” on a product titled 1.1L — a plain factual error sitting in the published specification.

They claim
"BPA Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave and dishwasher safe, lid detached
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Big W uses two non-equivalent claims on the same house brand’s food storage. This container says “BPA Free”; the Brilliant Basics rectangle container says “No added BPA”. The second is weaker — it speaks to deliberate addition rather than to presence. [2]
  • “Locking lids” with no lid resin and no seal material, despite a leak-proof claim. [1]
  • “Microwave safe*” and “Dishwasher safe*”, both asterisked to “Detach lid when reheating in the microwave and cleaning in the dishwasher”. So the lid is neither. [1]
  • No country of manufacture, no warranty, no third-party testing. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Big W — Brilliant Basics Clip Lock Food Container 1.1L
  2. Big W — Brilliant Basics Rectangle Food Container 650ml 3 Pack, “No added BPA”
29 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Brilliant Basics Rectangle Container 650ml 3 Pack (Big W)

“No added BPA” — no resin named · lid and seal not stated

Read the caveats

Note the wording: “No added BPA”, not “BPA free”. Those are not the same claim.

“No added” speaks to what the manufacturer deliberately put in. “Free” speaks to what is there. Big W uses both phrasings across one house brand’s storage range and explains neither.

They claim
"No added BPA"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave, dishwasher and freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No polymer named. “A secure lid to help keep food fresh and prevent leaks” is the entire component description, with no mention of whether there is a silicone seal. [1]
  • Microwave, dishwasher and freezer safe are all claimed for an unnamed plastic. [1]
  • Compare the Kmart equivalent at a similar price, which names polypropylene outright. The cheaper retailer discloses more. [2]
  • No country of manufacture, no warranty, no third-party testing. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Big W — Brilliant Basics Rectangle Food Container 650ml 3 Pack
  2. Kmart — 2.5L Food Container, polypropylene named
29 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Sistema Brilliance 920ml

“Ultra Clear Plastic” — a marketing name where a resin belongs

Read the caveats

The material field on Sistema’s own Australian page reads “Ultra Clear Plastic”. That is a product descriptor, not a material.

Third-party listings describe Brilliance as Tritan. The manufacturer does not, and we score the manufacturer.

They claim
No BPA claim on the maker’s own Australian page
Made in
New Zealand (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave with clips open; top-rack dishwasher; freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Made in New Zealand”, stated — which is genuinely rare and worth the credit. [1]
  • There is no BPA claim on the manufacturer’s Australian page, despite “BPA-Free” appearing in retailer listings for the same product. Claim in the channel, silence at the maker. [1]
  • Sold as “100% leak proof”, which requires a seal, and no seal material is given. [1]
  • Good appliance guidance: microwave with clips open, never sealed while heating, top-rack dishwasher, freezer safe, and an explicit list of what to avoid. No temperature limit. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Sistema Australia — 920ml Brilliance
Not publishedAUD; stocked at Harvey Norman, Kmart and Big W View on sistemaplastics.com
29 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Avanti Flip Top Storage Container 1.2L

Clear plastic, resin not published · gasket referenced but not identified

Read the caveats

“BPA free” and nothing else. No resin, no lid material, no confirmed gasket.

Included because Avanti is stocked widely in Australian homewares and publishes essentially nothing about any of it.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Dishwasher safe; no other guidance
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • A silicone gasket is referenced in the mechanism description and never confirmed as silicone or given a grade. [1]
  • No microwave, freezer or temperature guidance at all. The only care line is “Dishwasher safe” plus a warning against abrasives. [1]
  • No certification, no country of manufacture, no warranty. [1]
  • Worth noting for anyone researching this brand: most Avanti product URLs return 404 to automated retrieval even when they appear in search results, and retailer pages carry no material detail. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Avanti Homewares — Flip Top Storage Container 1.2L
$6.95AUD, RRP $19.95 View on avantihomewares.com
13 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Openook Bamboo Lid Container 1.7L (Big W)

Bamboo lid · the body is never identified as glass, acrylic or plastic

Avoid

The lid is named. The container is not. Nowhere on the page does Big W say whether the body is glass, acrylic or plastic.

That is the only material fact a buyer actually needs from a food storage jar, and it is the one that is missing.

They claim
"BPA free and food contact safe"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA free and food contact safe design” — and “food contact safe” is asserted with no standard, regulation or test cited. It is the only use of that phrase we found across this whole audit and it is entirely unsubstantiated. [1]
  • A BPA-free claim on a product whose body material is undisclosed is doing a lot of quiet work: it implies plastic without saying so. [1]
  • Whether the bamboo lid has a silicone gasket, and whether the bamboo is sealed or treated, is not stated. [1]
  • No country of manufacture, no warranty, no dishwasher or microwave guidance, no testing. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Big W — Openook Bamboo Lid Container 1.7L
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Anko Set of 7 Food Storage Containers (Target)

Nothing stated — no material field, no polymer, no glass, nothing

Avoid

The page names no material anywhere. And the chemical claim it does make is a term that does not exist.

“Made using BPA-safe materials”. Not BPA-free. BPA-safe — which, read plainly, could mean it contains BPA at a level someone has deemed acceptable.

They claim
"Made using BPA-safe materials"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave, freezer and dishwasher safe (claimed)
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA-safe” is not a recognised term and no agency issues it. Every other Anko plastic product in this table says “BPA free”. Only this one says “BPA-safe”. [1] [2]
  • An invented safety adjective on a page that names no material at all is the worst combination we found in Australian retail. [1]
  • Microwave, freezer and dishwasher safe are all claimed for materials that are never identified. [1]
  • No warranty, no country of manufacture, no third-party testing. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Target — Anko Set of 7 Food Storage Containers
  2. Target — Anko 1.6L Plastic Bento Box, “BPA free”
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Brilliant Basics Snack Containers 4 Pack (Big W)

Nothing stated — “clear, round shape and stackable design” is the whole description

Avoid

No material named, and no BPA claim either — unlike the rest of the Brilliant Basics storage range, which at least offers one.

Four snack containers, sold for children’s lunchboxes, and the page does not say what they are made of.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave safe; dishwasher top rack only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Clear” is the only word describing the material. No resin, no code, no glass. [1]
  • Microwave safe and top-rack dishwasher safe are claimed for an unidentified plastic. [1]
  • Lid and seal materials not stated. [1]
  • No warranty, no country of manufacture, no testing. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Big W — Brilliant Basics Snack Containers 4 Pack
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

OXO POP 5-Piece Container Set (Myer)

Nothing published — not by the retailer, not by the brand

Avoid

Included because it is the null case: a $149-RRP food-contact product where an Australian buyer can learn nothing at all.

Myer publishes no material text. OXO’s own product page returns a 404 and OXO has no Australian brand site. There is no third place to look.

They claim
No claim found anywhere
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • No material, no BPA statement, no country of manufacture, no warranty obtainable from any primary source we could reach. [1] [2]
  • This is not a Myer-specific failure. Across fifteen Myer product pages we found no description, specification or material text of any kind — the content renders client-side and is not in the served page. Myer is a price and discovery source, not an information source. [1]
  • A score of zero here means we looked and found nothing published, not that the product is bad. It may well be ordinary polypropylene. Nobody will say. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Myer — OXO POP 5-Piece Set
  2. OXO POP container set (page returns 404)
$69AUD, RRP $149 View on myer.com.au
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Glad Snap Lock Reseal Bags, Storage Medium

Nothing published — no polymer named at all

Avoid

A food-contact product bought by millions of Australian households every week, and the polymer is never named. Not LDPE, not polyethylene, nothing.

The chemical claim is worth reading precisely: “Formulated without BPA”.

They claim
"Formulated without BPA"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Not applicable
Heat
Freezer safe; no microwave guidance published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Formulated without” is weaker than “free of”. It speaks to what was deliberately put in the formulation, not to what is present in the finished article. [1]
  • It excludes BPA as an intentional ingredient and nothing else — no BPS, no phthalates, no PFAS, no plasticiser statement. [1]
  • “Freezer Safe” is confirmed. There is no microwave guidance at all on the page, which matters for a bag people routinely defrost in. [1]
  • No country of manufacture, no certification, no test data. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Glad Australia — Snap Lock Medium Bags 15pk
Not publishedAUD; sold at IGA View on glad.com.au
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Tupperware Microwavable Rectangle Container 1L

Nothing published — no resin, no lid resin, no seal material

Avoid

Thirty dollars for a one-litre container, and the brand-level copy is “Designs made to last from durable and quality materials”.

No resin, no lid material, no seal material, no BPA claim, no country. The strongest warranty in this category attached to the weakest disclosure in it.

They claim
No chemical claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
10 years from June 2026
Heat
Microwave via the vented lid; no other guidance
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Ten-year warranty from June 2026, covering “manufacturing defects when used under normal, non-commercial use”. The exclusions are worth reading — food stains, minor scratches, heat damage from microwaving high-sugar or high-fat foods, and “cuts made by knives or other sharp objects, including teeth when chewing”. [2]
  • A ten-year promise about a material the company will not name is a promise about something unspecified. [1] [2]
  • No freezer, dishwasher or temperature guidance on the product page — only that “the vented lid allows food to heat evenly in the microwave”. [1]
  • Context: Tupperware exited Australia after the 2024 bankruptcy and returned in 2026 under a new distribution arrangement. The relaunched range publishes a long warranty and zero material information. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Tupperware Australia — Microwavable Rectangle Food Container 1L
  2. Tupperware Australia — warranty terms
$29.95AUD; relaunched in Australia 2026 View on tupperware.com.au

The question nobody answers

Glass storage is sold as the simple, honest choice, and mostly it is. But there are two kinds of glass in this category and they behave differently — and the biggest brand will not say which one you are buying.

Soda-lime versus borosilicate

Borosilicate handles sudden temperature change better. Tempered soda-lime is more resistant to impact, and when it does break it tends to crumble rather than shard. Both are used in kitchen glassware; neither is dangerous.

Which matters practically, because it is the reason for the warning on the box. Never put hot glass on a cold or wet surface is standard guidance precisely because soda-lime is less forgiving of thermal shock.

Who tells you, and who does not

Anchor Hocking publishes an actual oxide composition — tempered soda-lime silicate, 70 SiO2 CaO, 15 Na2O. Not a marketing word, a formula.

Pyrex does not. Their FAQ discusses soda-lime and borosilicate side by side without ever stating which they use. The answer — tempered soda-lime for current US products — comes from the Corning Museum of Glass and from a competitor stating it as industry fact. It is a perfectly good answer. They simply will not give it.

This is the clearest example on the whole site of the thing we score: not a bad product, just a company that has decided you do not need to know.

The lid is where sets cheat

Almost every glass storage set has a plastic lid, and a lot of “glass storage” marketing quietly does not mention it. Two things worth checking:

  • Which plastic? Most makers say only “BPA-free plastic”. That names one thing it is not, rather than what it is.
  • Is there a silicone gasket, and is the lid rated for heat? Manufacturers’ own guidance generally says lids are not oven safe. Follow that — it is their engineering, not ours.
Straight answer

Glass containers with well-fitting lids are a good buy and both brands here are fine to use. The difference between them is that one publishes a formula and one publishes an adjective.

Keep reading

All 168 products in one table  ·  Which brands publish anything at all  ·  All guides

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list isn’t open yet — email us and we’ll add you when it is.