MessyPig

Brand review

Klean Kanteen vs Hydro Flask: which one tells you more?

83/100 against 61/100 — and the gap is the cap. Hydro Flask files an actual legal disclosure and makes no safety claims at all. Klean Kanteen wins on a design decision.

The lead question in steel bottles is real, widely misreported, and mostly about one thing: the sealing dot at the base of vacuum-insulated bottles. We have gone through it in detail here.

It is also the thing that separates these two bottles, and it has nothing to do with which brand markets itself harder.

What the score is, before you read one

It is a disclosure score out of 100, not a safety rating: what it is made of, who tested it, where it is made, whether the claim matches the evidence. A pan can score 20 and be perfectly fine to cook in. What a low score means is that nobody outside the company can check. The rubric is here.

What they publish, point by point

Klean Kanteen Kids Classic 12oz — 83/100 · bare, inert materials

$9.95 (on sale from $17.95)

  • What touches the food — 60/60. 18/8 stainless, 90% recycled, single wall · removable soft silicone spout
  • The rest of it — 17/25. Lids, seals, handles and the outside.
  • Backed up — 6/15. Testing or compliance asserted, with no laboratory named and no report published.
  • Made in. China — stated in FAQ, designed in California
  • They claim. "BPA Free and Lead Free"
  • Warranty. Lifetime limited

Single wall, so there is no vacuum seal at the base and therefore no sealing dot — which is the one place lead actually turns up in steel bottles. Klean Kanteen’s FAQ states 18/8 food-grade steel, no interior plastic or epoxy lining, and manufacture in China. $10 on sale.

What we’d want you to know:

  • The 18/8 grade and the country are stated in the company FAQ, not on the product page, which says only “90% Recycled Steel”. Both linked below.
  • Testing scores only 1 of 3, and it is worth being precise about why, because it is easy to read their page as more than it is. Intertek appears twice — as a recycled-content verifier and behind a sustainability certification. Neither is safety testing of this bottle. GreenScreen is not a certification they hold: it is a hazard-scoring method they say they used internally while formulating the Klean Coat exterior powder coat. The bottle itself has no published test report.
  • Klean Kanteen says all its products are lead-free and that its insulated line uses silica/glass plugs rather than lead solder. Independent tester Tamara Rubin disputes this for the insulated bottles and recommends only the non-insulated ones. We found no company response to her specifically. This single-wall bottle sidesteps the argument entirely by having no vacuum seal at all.
  • Hand wash the printed ones if you want the graphics to survive.

The full entry, with every source · The maker’s own page

Hydro Flask Kids 12 oz Bottle — 61/100 · mostly inert

$22.49 (from $29.95)

  • What touches the food — 53/60. Stainless steel, grade not stated · double-wall vacuum · plastic cap, type not stated
  • The rest of it — 8/25. Lids, seals, handles and the outside.
  • Backed up — 0/15. Nothing beyond the maker’s own word.
  • Made in. UNVERIFIED
  • They claim. None made on the kids pages
  • Warranty. Hydro Flask Promise, limited

Makes no “free of” claims at all on its kids pages, which is unusual and means it cannot overclaim. Publishes a statutory California AB 1200 materials disclosure — an actual legal filing rather than marketing. Lead does not appear on it.

What we’d want you to know:

  • The AB 1200 disclosure is the manufacturer’s own filing against a designated chemical list, not third-party testing, which is why it counts as a declaration rather than a test. It is also not component-level — every product in a category gets an identical entry.
  • Hydro Flask says it moved away from the industry-standard leaded sealing dot in 2012. Tamara Rubin’s XRF testing describes pre-2018 Hydro Flasks as having leaded dots, while naming post-2018 Hydro Flask as consistently lead-free. Both accounts cannot be exactly right, and we found no reconciliation — but on the current product they agree.
  • Stainless grade, cap plastic, boot material and country of manufacture are all unstated.
  • Not for hot liquids, not for the freezer, ages 3+.

The full entry, with every source · The maker’s own page

Our verdict

Klean Kanteen, and the reason is structural rather than reputational. The kids Classic is single wall. There is no vacuum chamber, so there is no sealing dot, so the one place lead actually turns up in steel bottles does not exist on this bottle. That is a design fact, not a promise. Add a stated 18/8 grade, no interior lining, a named country and a lifetime warranty, and it is an 8.

Hydro Flask scores 61, and we want to be fair about why. It makes no “free of” claims on its kids pages at all, which is unusual and means it cannot overclaim — and it files a statutory California AB 1200 materials disclosure, which is a legal document rather than marketing copy. Lead does not appear on it. What it does not do is state a steel grade or a country, and it is vacuum-insulated, so the sealing dot question applies.

Put plainly: one bottle sidesteps the question by design, the other answers it with a legal filing. Neither is alarming. One is simply easier to verify.

Related

Sources

  1. Klean Kanteen 12oz Kids Classic with Sport Cap. www.kleankanteen.com
  2. Klean Kanteen FAQ — steel grade, lining, country, sealing method. www.kleankanteen.com
  3. Tamara Rubin, water bottle recommendations and the insulated-bottle dispute. shopleadsafemama.com
  4. Hydro Flask Kids 12 oz Bottle. www.hydroflask.com
  5. Hydro Flask required materials disclosure (California AB 1200). www.hydroflask.com
  6. Hydro Flask FAQ on lead and bottle sealing. faq.hydroflask.com
  7. MessyPig materials rubric. How we score

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list is not open yet — email us and we will add you when it is.