MessyPig

27 checked · last checked 29 September 2026

Kids’ lunch boxes, stainless and plastic, rated on materials

Boxes Australian parents actually buy, from Kmart and Big W house brands to the $80 stainless ones, scored on what they are made of rather than what they claim.

An open stainless steel bento box with a stainless lid beside it, holding a sandwich, raspberries and blueberries, cucumber and carrot sticks and cherry tomatoes
Cookware (47)Lunchboxes (27)Food storage (36)Bottles (28)Air fryers (30)

The short answer

To choose a stainless steel lunch box in Australia, check three things: the steel grade (304, also sold as 18/8, is the food-contact standard), whether the lid and seal materials are named, and whether it is leakproof for what you pack. Most stainless boxes are not leakproof for runny liquids. The ones with a silicone seal, such as Nudie Rudie and Ever Eco, say they hold thick foods like yoghurt.

The short version

  • Stainless takes the question off the table. No coating, no plasticiser, no secret recipe.
  • Check the grade, not the marketing. 304 (“18/8”) is the food-contact standard; 430 (“18/0”) has no nickel but corrodes more easily; 201 swaps nickel for manganese to cut cost.
  • The lid is where sets cheat. Ask whether it’s the same metal as the tray.
  • One brand here won’t commit to a grade at all — its own FAQ says “201 or 304”, so you can’t know which arrived.
  • Almost none of these are leak-proof. Pack dry.
Why, in full ↓

Stainless steel tiffin and bento boxes, compared

Bento boxes are one tray split into compartments. Tiffin boxes stack in tiers. Most stainless lunch boxes sold here are bento style; frank green’s 3 Tier is the tiffin-style one we score.

BoxScoreSteel gradeSealCapacityCompartmentsLeakproof?Dishwasher / microwavePrice, as of Oct 2026
LunchBots Large Cinco8518/8, lid includedNone0.94 L5No. Maker says dry foods onlyDishwasher safe. Microwave: not statedNot stated in AUD (US$39.99 from maker)
PlanetBox Rover81Tray 18/8 (304), lid 18/0 (430)Silicone tops on the 2 dippers onlyAbout 1.06 L (4.5 cups)5The 2 dippers are leakproof, per maker. Main box: not statedDishwasher safe, magnets off. Microwave: not statedNot stated in AUD (US$54.95 from maker)
Nudie Rudie Five Compartment77304LFGB silicone sealAbout 4 cups, plus pots5, plus snack and dip potThick foods like yoghurt; thin liquids in the dip potDishwasher safe, seal removed. Microwave: not statedA$94.95
Ever Eco 5 Compartment Bento73304LFGB silicone seal0.93 L5Leak resistant; for yoghurt, hummusDishwasher safe. Microwave: not statedA$79.95
Seed & Sprout CrunchBox OG73304Not stated1.2 L4Not statedDishwasher safe. Microwave: not statedA$74.00 (sale; RRP A$93)
Yumbox Prêt7318/8, 304 tray; plastic lid, resin not namedSilicone seals0.8 L4Sold as leakproofHand wash recommended; Yumbox pages conflict on the dishwasher. Not microwave safeNot stated (maker page removed)
Ever Eco Bento Snack Box73304None0.58 L3No. Not for liquids or runny foodsDishwasher safe. Microwave: not statedA$29.95
Smash 5 Compartment Bento 1.4L61Retailers disagree; maker publishes noneNot stated1.4 L5Not stated by the makerTop-rack dishwasher. Not microwave safe, per OfficeworksA$35.00
frank green 3 Tier Insulated (tiffin style)47Stainless outer, ceramic linedNot stated1.0 L (175 + 350 + 475 ml)3 tiersLeak resistant, per makerHand wash only. Microwave: not statedA$79.95 (out of stock)

Specs and prices from each maker’s own page, checked 24 October 2026, except Smash (the maker publishes nothing, so retailer pages) and Yumbox (archived maker page). “Not stated” means the maker does not say. Sources: LunchBots Large Cinco, PlanetBox Rover, Nudie Rudie Five Compartment, Ever Eco 5 Compartment Bento, Seed & Sprout CrunchBox OG, Yumbox Prêt, Ever Eco Bento Snack Box, Smash 5 Compartment Bento 1.4L, frank green 3 Tier Insulated (tiffin style).

For kids

The kids’ bento boxes here hold about 0.6–1.06 L, with 4–5 compartments. Check the box fits their lunch bag, and that they can open the latch. Nudie Rudie lists 25.5 × 18.8 × 5 cm; PlanetBox Rover 25.4 × 18.8 × 3.8 cm.

For adults

The largest boxes we list are Smash at 1.4 L and Seed & Sprout CrunchBox at 1.2 L, which its maker calls adult and kid friendly. A tiered tiffin, like frank green’s 1.0 L 3 Tier, lets you pack hot and cold separately.

The 27 we’ve checked

We score what it’s made of, so you don’t have to read the small print

Every score below is out of 100 for the materials — mostly what actually touches your food (60 points), then the lids, seals and handles (25), and whether the maker can back the materials claim up (15).

80–100 bare, inert materials 60–79 mostly inert 40–59 coated, or plastic in contact 0–39 coated, plastic, or unnamed

Bare stainless, cast iron and glass score highest because there is nothing applied to them that can come off. Coatings score lower the less the maker will say about them, and a product whose materials are never named cannot score at all — you can’t call something inert if nobody will tell you what it is.

This is not a safety rating. We run no laboratory. A low score means the food meets a coating or a plastic, or that nobody will say what it meets — which is worth knowing, and is not the same as something being wrong with it. How we score, in full

Ranked by score. Nothing here is a paid link — we are not in any affiliate programme.

85 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest25/25
Backed up0/15
Best material here

LunchBots Large Cinco 5-Section

18/8 stainless steel throughout — including the lid. No plastic touches food.

Best material

“100% stainless steel interior, including the lid. No plastic touches your food.” That sentence answers the question the entire rest of this category leaves open.

Every other stainless bento here names the tray and goes quiet about the lid. This one names both, because both are the same thing.

They claim
No BPA claim is made, and on an all-steel box none is needed
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — terms not published
Heat
Dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • 18/8 is stated; 304 is not, though the two are equivalent designations. A small gap in an otherwise complete disclosure. [1]
  • No seal, and they say so: “This product is not leak proof. We recommend packing dry foods only.” Honest, and it means no silicone question arises at all. [1]
  • An optional snap-on plastic cover is sold separately with no resin named. It is not part of this product. [1]
  • Country of manufacture and warranty terms are not published on the product page. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. LunchBots Large Cinco
$41.49USD; stocked in Australia via eco retailers View on lunchbots.com
81 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

PlanetBox Rover Stainless Lunch Box Set (Biome)

Tray 18/8 (304) recycled stainless · LID 18/0 (430) stainless · dipper tops silicone

Buy it

The only brand in this category that publishes a different grade for the lid than for the tray: 304 for the base, 430 for the lid.

That matters and almost nobody knows to ask. 430 is ferritic with lower corrosion resistance than 304, and most parents assume one steel throughout.

They claim
"Free from lead, PVC, phthalates or BPA material" — no PFAS claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
5 years
Heat
Dishwasher safe; remove magnets first
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Every component is graded — tray, lid, dipper bowl, dipper top. That is best-in-class for this category and worth saying so. [1]
  • The recycled content is described as “Certified” and no certifying body or scheme is named. A certification without a certifier is an assertion. [1]
  • Silicone dipper tops are named as silicone. Cure type is not stated and no standard body is cited. [1]
  • Five-year warranty — the longest in this category. Country of manufacture not published. “Remove magnets before washing.” [1]

Sources (1)

  1. PlanetBox Rover Recycled Stainless Steel Lunch Box Set
$54.95USD from the maker; sold in Australia via Biome View on planetbox.com
77 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Nudie Rudie Five Compartment Stainless

304 food-grade stainless container and lid · food grade silicone seal

Buy it

The only Australian lunchbox here that names the steel grade, names the seal material, and says where it is made. That trio is rarer than it should be.

It also names the standards behind its testing claims rather than just asserting that testing happened.

They claim
"BPA Free"
Made in
China — stated; designed in Australia
Warranty
None published
Heat
Not stated
What we’d want you to know (6)
  • The claims are “independently tested to meet FDA food safety standards” for the steel and “independently tested and LFGB certified” for the silicone. Standards are named; the laboratory is not, and no report is published. That is why testing scores 2 and not 3. [1]
  • There is no warranty at all. Their returns policy says: “As a small business, we cannot accept returns or exchanges for change of mind”, and no defect warranty is offered anywhere on the site. [1]
  • “Pure food grade silicone” is the phrase we dock everyone for, and we are not making an exception here. Food grade is not a certification — no agency issues it. The LFGB claim is the substantive one; “food grade” adds nothing. [1]
  • “BPA Free” on stainless steel and silicone rules out a molecule that was never plausible in either material. True, and costless. [1]
  • Do not confuse this brand with Nude Food Movers, which is a different company and discloses considerably less.
  • $95 is the top of this market. You are paying for the disclosure and the five compartments.

Sources (1)

  1. Nudie Rudie stainless steel lunch box
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Ever Eco 5 Compartment Stainless Bento

304 stainless tray · LFGB silicone seal · lid material not published

Buy it

304 named, and the seal named as “LFGB European grade silicone” — which is more than most.

The lid is not named at all, and on a bento the lid sits directly over the food.

They claim
"Plastic free"; "BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — brand-level only
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not on the product page
Heat
Dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Ever Eco’s own FAQ says its bento boxes have no seal, because “they would require a plastic/silicone seal in the lid, however we chose to keep them 100% stainless steel”. This product page sells a silicone lid seal. Both are Ever Eco’s. [1] [2]
  • Its own 1400ml bento cites a different standard for the same component — “FDA grade silicone” rather than LFGB. Same brand, same part, two standards, neither with a certificate. [3]
  • “Plastic free” sits awkwardly next to a silicone seal and an unnamed lid. [1]
  • Cure type not stated. Country given only at brand level in the FAQ — “China, India and Indonesia” — not per product. [1] [2]

Sources (3)

  1. Ever Eco 5 Compartment Stainless Steel Bento Box
  2. Ever Eco FAQ — “we chose to keep them 100% stainless steel”
  3. Ever Eco Bento Box 1400ml — “FDA grade silicone seal”
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Seed & Sprout CrunchBox OG Lunch Box

304 stainless tray · lid material not published · add-on pots have silicone lids

Buy it

“Food-grade 304 stainless steel”, listed under Product Certifications as “304 Food Safe Stainless Steel”. The tray is properly specified.

The lid is not, and the brand’s LFGB page turns out to be an explainer rather than a certificate.

They claim
"100% plastic-free, BPA-free, non-toxic"; "no BPA and no microplastics"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — spare parts offered instead
Heat
Dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • We chased the LFGB page. It defines LFGB generically — “a premium grade of silicone that has passed LFGB testing standards” — and names no lab, no certificate number, no standard number and no product list. Treat it as marketing copy, not evidence. [2]
  • “100% plastic-free” is hard to square with the silicone-lidded pots sold as part of the same system. [1]
  • “No microplastics” is an unfalsifiable claim with no test behind it. [1]
  • Seed & Sprout’s wider range does make the broadest chemical exclusion we found anywhere — BPA, phthalates, cadmium, mercury, PVC, dioxin, GenX, PFAS, and the D4 and D5 siloxanes. It is the only brand in this table that names siloxanes at all. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Seed & Sprout CrunchBox OG Lunch Box
  2. Seed & Sprout LFGB silicone page — an explainer, not a certificate
  3. Seed & Sprout product FAQ — the full exclusion list
$74AUD, from $93 View on seedandsprout.com
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Yumbox Prêt Stainless 4 Compartment (Biome)

18/8, 304 stainless tray · silicone compartment seals · lid polymer not published

Buy it

“Made from premium 18/8, 304 grade stainless steel” — the clearest steel statement in this category, giving both designations.

The lid is plastic and Yumbox never names the resin. On a leakproof bento the lid is a food-contact part, not trim.

They claim
"BPA-Free. Phthalate-free, food-grade stainless steel"
Made in
UNVERIFIED by the maker; Biome states China
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not on the Prêt page
Heat
Hand wash recommended; not microwave safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Silicone seals are named as silicone and nothing more — no cure type, no LFGB, no EC 1935/2004. [1]
  • The product page says “Dishwasher Safety Tested for Top Rack”; the FAQ says stainless items are “hand washed only”. Two Yumbox pages, two answers. [1] [2]
  • “CPSIA and FDA compliant” is self-declared. No certificate, no lab. [2]
  • Yumbox does not state a country. Biome states “Made in China” — a retailer claim we could not verify against the maker. [1] [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Yumbox Prêt stainless steel bento
  2. Yumbox FAQ — hand wash only for stainless
  3. Biome — Yumbox Prêt, “Made in China”
$59.64AUD at Biome; USD $40 from Yumbox View on yumboxlunch.com
73 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Ever Eco Bento Snack Box 3 Compartment

304 stainless, welded dividers · no seal · lid material not published

Buy it

304 stainless with permanently welded dividers and no seal at all — which removes the one component this brand is inconsistent about.

“Not suitable for liquids or runny foods”, stated up front. Here the “plastic-free” claim actually holds.

They claim
"Plastic-free"; "BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • The lid material is still not published, and it is the part that sits over the food. [1]
  • No certification, no country of manufacture, no warranty on the product page. [1]
  • Compare its sealed siblings, where “plastic free” runs alongside a silicone seal and Ever Eco’s own FAQ claims there is no seal at all. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Ever Eco Bento Snack Box 3 Compartment
  2. Ever Eco FAQ
68 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food60/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Anko Glass Bento Lunch Box with Cutlery (Kmart / Target)

“Body: Borosilicate glass” · “Lid: Polypropylene (PP)” · cutlery material not stated

Fine

The single most specific material disclosure we found anywhere in Australian mass retail, and it costs nine dollars. “Body: Borosilicate glass. Lid: Polypropylene (PP).”

Borosilicate named by type, the lid polymer named by name. Kmart’s $20 oven-rated glass storage set does neither.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Glass base microwave and freezer safe; 120°C thermal-shock limit; dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The included knife and fork have no material stated. They are food-contact items in a product whose entire selling point is glass. [1]
  • No seal or gasket material is listed, despite an “air and water tight” claim. [1]
  • Borosilicate is chosen for thermal-shock resistance, and the care note then imposes a limit: “do not place it in a pre heated oven above 120 deg. C”. No oven rating is given anywhere else on the page. [1]
  • Target lists the same product with dimensions of “21.2cm (H) x 16cm (W) x 7.5cm (D)”. A 21cm-tall lunchbox is implausible; height and depth appear transposed. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Kmart — Glass Bento Lunch Box with Cutlery
  2. Target — Anko Glass Bento Lunch Box with Cutlery
61 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food53/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Smash Stainless Steel 5 Compartment Bento 1.4L (Big W)

Steel grade and lid resin both disputed between retailers; the maker publishes nothing

Fine

A case study in why we score what the maker publishes. Smash’s own site returns an empty page, so every material fact comes from retailers — and they disagree.

Big W says “Food Grade 304 Stainless Steel” with a “clear BPA free plastic lid”. Officeworks says no grade at all and a “Tritan Lid”. Same product code, two answers.

They claim
"BPA free, Food Safe & Non-Toxic" (Big W)
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months (retailer-stated)
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher; Officeworks states not microwave safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • We score the grade as unspecified, because two Australian retailers publish different specifications for one SKU and the manufacturer publishes none. [1] [2]
  • Marketed as leakproof and airtight, with no gasket material named by either retailer. [1] [2]
  • Officeworks says “Microwave Safe: No”. Big W says top-rack dishwasher safe with hand washing recommended. Twelve-month warranty per Big W. [1] [2]
  • No country of manufacture and no certification from any source. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Big W — Smash Stainless Steel 5 Compartment Bento 1.4L
  2. Officeworks — the same SKU, “Tritan Lid”, no grade
47 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food34/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

frank green 3 Tier Insulated Bento Box (David Jones)

Stainless steel outer · “ceramic lined”, composition not published · seals not disclosed

Read the caveats

Stainless outer, triple-wall vacuum insulated, ceramic lined. A genuinely good build, and the ceramic lining’s composition is never published.

Then there is the claim pairing, which does not survive a second read: “BPA free, FDA & EU approved safe materials” sits directly alongside “100% plastic free”.

They claim
"BPA free, FDA & EU approved safe materials"; "100% plastic free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Hand wash only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • BPA is a plastic monomer. If the product were genuinely 100% plastic-free, certifying it BPA-free would be meaningless — you do not BPA-test a stainless and ceramic object. One of those two statements is doing dishonest work, and a leak-resistant modular box almost certainly has elastomer seals. [1]
  • “FDA & EU approved safe” is not a certification. The FDA does not approve lunchboxes; it sets food-contact material requirements. No standard number, no notified body, no lab, no certificate. [1]
  • “Leak resistant” is the only description of the seals. Their material is not given. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not stated. Hand wash only. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. frank green 3 Tier Insulated Bento Box
39 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Anko 1.6L Plastic Bento Box (Kmart / Target)

“Silicone and polypropylene (PP)” · which part is which is not stated

Fine

Two materials, both named: silicone and polypropylene. For six dollars that is a real answer, and more than Big W’s equivalent gives at the same price.

What it does not say is which part is which. The removable inner tray is the food-contact surface, and the page does not assign it to either material.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave, dishwasher and freezer safe; open the lid before reheating
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “BPA free” on polypropylene. PP never contained BPA — BPA is a polycarbonate and epoxy monomer — so the claim is true and uninformative, and it says nothing about BPS or BPF. [1]
  • The silicone has no grade, no cure type and no standard. “Silicone” is the whole of it. [1]
  • “Microwave, dishwasher and freezer safe” appears unqualified, then the care text requires opening the lid before reheating. The lid is not fully microwave rated and the bullet does not say so. [1]
  • Compare Big W’s K-D Hard Square Bento at $8, which names no material at all and claims “No added BPA”. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Kmart — 1.6L Plastic Bento Box
  2. Big W — K-D Hard Square Bento 1.6L
39 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Anko Collapsible Bento Lunch Box (Kmart)

“Body: Silicone and polypropylene (PP). Lid: Polypropylene (PP). Fork: Polypropylene (PP).”

Fine

The most complete component-level breakdown of any product in this Australian table — body, lid and fork each named separately — on a four-dollar-fifty lunchbox.

It proves the point we keep making: Kmart’s template can do this. On most products it simply is not filled in.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave and dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The body is “Silicone and polypropylene (PP)” without saying which part is which — presumably the collapsible walls are silicone and the rigid frame is PP, but the page does not say. [1]
  • No grade, cure type or standard for the silicone, and no grade for the PP. [1]
  • “BPA free”, which on PP and silicone is true by construction. [1]
  • No warranty, no country of manufacture, no third-party testing — consistent with every Kmart product we checked. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Kmart — Collapsible Bento Lunch Box
$4.50AUD, from $6 View on kmart.com.au
35 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Anko Wheat Straw Bento Snack Box (Kmart)

“Wheat straw and polypropylene (PP)” · the ratio is not published

Read the caveats

Both materials are named, which is good. The proportion is not, which is the whole question.

“Made from partly plant-based plastics” quantifies nothing. There is no percentage anywhere on the page, and a wheat-straw-filled polypropylene composite is still polypropylene.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave, dishwasher and freezer safe; open the lid before reheating
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Partly plant-based” is the environmental headline and the undisclosed remainder is conventional PP. A 5% filler and a 50% filler would both be described this way. [1]
  • Three food-contact components — two removable trays and a snack pot — and the lid and pot materials are not separately stated. [1]
  • “BPA free” on polypropylene, which never contained it. [1]
  • No warranty, no country of manufacture, no third-party testing. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Kmart — Wheat Straw Bento Snack Box
35 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

b.box Lunchbox (Myer)

Silicone and polypropylene — stated only on the brand’s US blog, nowhere on any Australian page

Read the caveats

A children’s food-contact product at $33, and neither Myer nor b.box’s own Australian storefront states what it is made of.

The only place the brand says is a blog post on its US site: “Made with silicone and PP (and none of the bad stuff!)”. You have to leave the country to find out.

They claim
"BPA-, phthalate-, and PVC-free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The claim is “BPA-, phthalate-, and PVC-free”. Three exclusions, and nothing about PFAS — which is notable, because b.box’s US listings do claim PFAS-free while its Australian pages do not. [1]
  • Which part is the PP and which is the silicone is not published. Lid, clips and the included ice pack contents are all unstated. [1]
  • No third-party testing. The claims rest on material type rather than on any test report or certification. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. No warranty. Myer’s listing carries no material, BPA, PVC or phthalate statement at all on a children’s product. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. b.box — non-toxic lunch box guide (US site)
  2. Myer — b.box Lunchbox
35 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Munchbox Maxi6

Tritan tray, named · outer case material not published · silicone seal system

Read the caveats

One of only two brands in this whole category that names a food-contact resin on its own site: “Sturdy removable Tritan tray”.

Tritan is a copolyester and a real, checkable answer. No grade or food-contact standard is cited, and the outer case is never described.

They claim
"Eco-friendly, BPA & Phthalate-free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-shelf dishwasher
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Tritan is marketed as BPA-free by design, so the “BPA & Phthalate-free” claim is consistent — but it says nothing about the other bisphenol analogues used as substitutes. [1]
  • “Silicone seal system” — named, with no cure type and no standard body. [1]
  • No certification mentioned, no country of manufacture, no warranty on the product page. [1]
  • “Dishwasher safe (top shelf)*” — the asterisk points to conditions that are not shown on the page. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Munchbox Maxi6
33 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

OmieBox Insulated Bento with Thermos

Thermos interior 18/8 304 stainless · tray and shell “food grade plastic”, resin not named

Read the caveats

The thermos is properly specified — 18/8, 304. The tray your food actually sits in is “food grade plastic”.

“Food grade plastic” names nothing. It is not a certification and no agency issues it.

They claim
"BPA-free and Phthalate-free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year limited
Heat
Hand wash recommended; no microwave or oven
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The combined materials line is “18/8 304 grade stainless steel, food grade plastic & silicone” — three materials, one of them a real specification and one of them a placeholder. [1]
  • The silicone gasket is removable and named as silicone. Cure type not stated, no standard body cited. [1]
  • “FDA, CPSIA, CPSA compliant” is self-declared with no certificate or lab published. [1]
  • Leakproof only “for up to 1 teaspoon liquid”, which is an unusually honest limit. One year limited warranty. Country not published. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. OmieBox insulated bento
$49.95USD; sold in Australia via eco retailers View on omielife.com
33 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Yumbox Tapas 5 Compartment (plastic)

Plastic tray and shell — no resin named anywhere · silicone seal

Read the caveats

The same brand that names “18/8, 304” on its steel bento names no resin at all on its plastic one. The FAQ says only “plastic inner trays”.

“BPA-Free, Lead-Free, Phthalates-Free” excludes three things and identifies none.

They claim
"BPA-Free, Lead-Free, Phthalates-Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1 year
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher; hand wash shell
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Marketed as leakproof, and the same page says “Do not pack water or watery food. Yumbox does not hold water.” [1]
  • The seal is described elsewhere as a “precision silicone seal” — named, no grade, no standard. [1]
  • “FDA and CPSIA compliant” is self-declared. No certificate, no lab. [1]
  • One year warranty. Country of manufacture not published. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Yumbox Tapas 5 compartment
$36USD; sold in Australia via eco retailers View on yumboxlunch.com
30 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

b.box Bento Lunch Box 2L

Polypropylene container · silicone seals · no grade or standard named for either

Read the caveats

Names the polymer family, which beats saying nothing, and makes a specific four-part “free of” claim that is precise enough to be checkable.

But an Australian-owned brand that will not say which country makes its children’s food containers is a gap worth noticing.

They claim
"Free from BPS, PVC, BPA and Phthalate"
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
6 months, heavily excluded
Heat
Not stated
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • “PP and silicone” is a material family, not a specification. No food-contact standard is named for the polypropylene and no grade for the silicone. [1]
  • No country of manufacture stated anywhere we could find. b.box describes itself as “an award-winning, Australian-owned company” — ownership is not manufacture. [1]
  • No third-party testing, no certification, no laboratory named. [1]
  • The six-month guarantee excludes “rips, spills, scratches, chips, mould, fading, stains and odour” — which covers essentially every way a child’s lunchbox fails. [1]
  • Cheap, widely stocked and genuinely popular. The score is about disclosure, not whether your kid will like it.

Sources (1)

  1. b.box Bento lunch box at Hello Green
$25.95on sale from $32.95 View on hellogreen.com.au
29 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Sistema 1.25L Bento Cube with Yogurt Pot

“Plastic” — the resin is never named, by a plastics manufacturer

Read the caveats

The material field on Sistema’s own Australian site says, in full, “Plastic”. No polypropylene, no polyethylene, no Tritan.

This is a plastics company. The omission is striking, and it is the highest-volume lunchbox brand in Australian supermarkets.

They claim
"BPA-free" on the range page only; absent from the product page
Made in
New Zealand (stated)
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Top-rack dishwasher; microwave without lid; freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Made in New Zealand” — and this is the ONLY product in the entire lunchbox category, from any brand, that states a country of manufacture on the maker’s own product page. [1]
  • The range page carries a “BPA-free” claim. The individual product page carries no BPA claim at all. Category-level claim, product-level silence. [1] [2]
  • Gasket material not published, on a product with a “seal-tight screw-top lid”. [1]
  • The care guidance is the best-documented in this category: top-rack dishwasher, microwave without the lid, freezer safe, and an explicit list of what not to do — no conventional oven, hot plate, grill, stovetop or convection microwave. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Sistema Australia — 1.25L Bento Cube with Yogurt Pot
  2. Sistema Australia — lunch range page
Not publishedAUD; stocked at Big W and Kmart View on sistemaplastics.com
29 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Bentgo Kids Lunch Box (Hello Green)

Maker names no resin · a retailer publishes ABS shell, TPE overlay and PP tray

Read the caveats

Bentgo names no resin anywhere — only “food-safe materials (free of PFAS, BPA, vinyl, lead, and PVC)”.

Its Australian retailer publishes the breakdown the manufacturer does not: ABS shell and latches, TPE overlay, polypropylene tray. That is the biggest maker-versus-retailer gap we found in this category.

They claim
"free of PFAS, BPA, vinyl, lead, and PVC"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
1–2 years per the FAQ
Heat
Tray microwave, freezer and top-shelf dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • We score the maker, so the resin is unstated. But the retailer’s breakdown is worth knowing, and it should not have to come from a shop. [1] [2]
  • Bentgo is the only brand in this category making a PFAS-free claim, and it names no test method, lab or standard behind it. BPS and BPF are not excluded. [1]
  • The same retailer adds “FDA-approved, food-safe materials”. The FDA does not approve food-contact materials, so that line is simply wrong. [2]
  • Best care disclosure of the plastic group: tray freezer safe, microwave safe, top-shelf dishwasher; hand wash the outer shell. Warranty one to two years. Country not published. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Bentgo Kids Lunch Box
  2. Hello Green — the ABS / TPE / PP breakdown
$38.95AUD, RRP $54.95 View on bentgo.com
22 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Anko Silicone Bento Lunch Box (Kmart / Target)

“Material: Silicone” — one word, and the lid cannot be silicone

Read the caveats

The materials field says the product is silicone. The care instructions say “Microwave safe (excluding lid)”.

If the lid has to come out of the microwave, the lid is not silicone — so the materials field is incomplete, and the excluded component is the one that is never named.

They claim
"BPA free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave safe excluding lid; dishwasher top shelf; freezer safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No grade, no cure type, no “food grade” qualifier, no LFGB or FDA reference. Just the word silicone. [1]
  • “BPA free” on a silicone product. BPA is a polycarbonate and epoxy monomer; silicone never contained it. The claim is attached to the material where it cannot apply, and withheld from the lid where it might. [1]
  • “Do not reheat food for more than 2 minutes at a time” on the Target listing, with no reason given. [2]
  • Big W’s K-D Silicone Bento at $8 is the same story: silicone in the product name, no grade, and a “Removable Lid” whose material is not published. Its care text is also truncated mid-sentence on the live page. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Kmart — Blue Silicone Bento Lunch Box
  2. Target — Anko Lilac Silicone Bento Lunch Box
  3. Big W — K-D Silicone Bento Box
$3.50AUD; $8 for the Kmart blue version View on kmart.com.au
22 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food22/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

K-D Silicone Bento Box (Big W)

Silicone by product name only · “Removable Lid”, material not published

Read the caveats

“Silicone” appears in the product name and nowhere in the specifications. No grade, no cure type, no LFGB, no FDA.

And the removable lid — on a box named for one material — is very likely a different polymer that the page never names.

They claim
No BPA or PFAS claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Dishwasher, microwave and freezer safe; reheating only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No BPA claim at all, while its sibling K-D hard bento claims “No added BPA”. Two children’s products, one range, two different standards of claim. [2]
  • The care text contradicts itself: “Dishwasher and microwave safe” in one breath and “For reheating only and not suitable for cooking” in the next, with no temperature ceiling given. [1]
  • That care sentence is truncated mid-clause on the live page: “Do not use sharp utensils to cut directly in this”. [1]
  • No certification, no country of manufacture, no warranty. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Big W — K-D Silicone Bento Box
  2. Big W — K-D Hard Square Bento 1.6L, “No added BPA”
16 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

K-D Hard Square Bento 1.6L (Big W)

Nothing stated — the resin type is never named

Avoid

A children’s hard-plastic bento with three compartments, and the page names no resin: not PP, not PET, not Tritan.

The chemical claim is “No added BPA” — and the wording matters. “No added” is about deliberate addition. “BPA free” is about presence. Big W uses both across its own brands.

They claim
"No added BPA"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Dishwasher safe; not suitable for microwaves
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Kmart’s equivalent at $6 names two materials. Big W’s at $8 names none. [2]
  • Lid, seal and clips: all unstated. [1]
  • “Dishwasher safe. Not suitable for microwaves.” No reason given, on an unnamed polymer. [1]
  • No third-party testing, no country of manufacture, no warranty. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Big W — K-D Hard Square Bento 1.6L
  2. Kmart — 1.6L Plastic Bento Box, two materials named
16 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food16/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Décor Bento 4 Compartment Lunch Box

“BPA free, food safe” — that is the entire material disclosure

Avoid

No resin, no lid material, no seal material. “BPA free, food safe” is all of it.

Disappointing from the brand that names borosilicate and a removable silicone seal on its glass storage — the same company, doing it properly one aisle over.

They claim
"BPA free, food safe"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Microwave safe; top-rack dishwasher
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Décor maintains an “Australian Made” section elsewhere on its own site and does not apply it to this product. Do not assume Australian manufacture. [1]
  • Microwave safe and top-rack dishwasher safe are claimed for an unnamed polymer. [1]
  • No certification, no country, no warranty. [1]
  • Compare Décor’s own Premium Glass Clips container, which names borosilicate glass and a removable silicone seal. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Décor Bento 4 Compartment Lunch Box
  2. Décor Premium Glass Clips Oblong 1L — borosilicate and silicone named
Not publishedAUD; stocked at Big W and Harris Scarfe View on decor.com.au
13 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

frank green Insulated Lunch Bag (David Jones)

rPET outer · lining, insulation, zip and hardware all unnamed

Avoid

“Made from rPET, an innovative material made from recycled PET bottles” describes the outer fabric. Nothing else is described.

On an insulated, wipe-clean textile at eighty dollars, the omission that matters is PFAS — and frank green makes no claim either way.

They claim
No PFAS claim either way
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
“Easy to clean”
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Water- and stain-resistant bag linings are a known PFAS application. This is the one product category in this table where a PFAS question is genuinely open, and the page is silent on it. [1]
  • The lining is a de facto food-contact surface whenever food is unwrapped in the bag, and its material is not published. [1]
  • Insulation, zip and hardware: all unstated. [1]
  • “Easy to clean” is the entire care instruction. No warranty, no country of manufacture. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. frank green Insulated Lunch Bag
13 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Fridge-to-Go Medium Lunch Bag

Outer fabric and lining not named · cooling panel liquid is “non-toxic purified salt water”

Avoid

An insulated bag at $45 where no textile, lining or coating is named anywhere on the page.

The claim is “BPA, PVC, lead & Phthlate-free” — their typo — and it does not mention PFAS.

They claim
"BPA, PVC, lead & Phthlate-free" — no PFAS claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Wipe clean with soap and water
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • For a wipe-clean insulated lining, PFAS is the open question, and it is the one the page does not address either way. With the lining material unnamed there is no way to reason about it at all. [1]
  • The cooling panel is the only component described: “290ml of liquid”, “non-toxic purified salt water”. Credit where it is due — most gel packs say nothing. [1]
  • This is a bag rather than a food-contact tray, so it scores differently from the rest of this category. The lining still meets unwrapped food. [1]
  • No certification, no country of manufacture, no warranty. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Fridge-to-Go Medium Lunch Bag
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

MontiiCo Bento Five

UNVERIFIED — no material named for the box, lid or seal

They won't say

One of the most popular lunchbox brands in Australia, and the product page does not name a single material.

Not the polymer, not the seal, not the country, not a test. The only claim we could find was “BPA free”, and that came from the page metadata.

They claim
"BPA free" (found in page metadata only)
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
UNVERIFIED
Heat
Not stated
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No polymer type for the body. No material for the lid or seal. For a food container aimed at children, this is the thinnest disclosure on the Australian list. [1]
  • “BPA free” on an unnamed plastic tells you one molecule is absent from a material you have not been told the identity of. See why that claim is narrower than it sounds. [1]
  • No warranty found on the product page. [1]
  • None of this means the product is unsafe. It means nothing about it can be checked from outside the company — and under Australian law they are not required to tell you. That is the finding.

Sources (1)

  1. MontiiCo Bento Five product page
$45.95AUD, approximate View on montii.co

Why a lunchbox is worth thinking about at all

A school lunchbox sits in a warm bag for four hours, five days a week, for years, holding food a child eats without question. It is one of the few food-contact items with that combination of warmth, duration and repetition.

The good news: this category has a genuinely simple answer. Stainless steel takes the whole question off the table. No coating, no plasticiser, no recipe. The interesting part is that not all stainless is the same, and the differences are rarely on the label.

The numbers on stainless steel, decoded

“18/8” and “18/10” are not grades — they are chromium and nickel percentages. The actual grades that matter here:

  • 304 (“18/8”) — the standard for food contact. Roughly 18% chromium, 8–10% nickel. Corrosion-resistant, non-magnetic.
  • 430 (“18/0”) — no nickel at all. Cheaper, magnetic, and less corrosion-resistant than 304. Genuinely the low-nickel option, but that is a trade-off, not a free win.
  • 201 — substitutes manganese for nickel to cut cost. Around 5.5–7.5% manganese against 304’s maximum of 2%, and noticeably lower corrosion resistance.

Is 201 dangerous? On the evidence, no. A KTH doctoral study measured manganese release from grade 201 in citric acid at 0.35 mg/L against a Council of Europe limit of 1.8 mg/L — about a fifth of the limit — and found it released markedly less nickel than 304. But it corrodes more readily, and a corroded surface releases more of everything.

The problem is not that 201 exists. It is that one brand here says its boxes are “food-grade stainless steel 201 or 304” and leaves you to guess which one arrived.

What actually to check

  • Is the lid the same material as the tray? This is where sets quietly switch. PlanetBox uses 18/0 for the lid rather than 18/8 — and says so, and explains why: the 400 series holds magnets better. Naming both grades rather than one is why they sit at the top of this category.
  • Is there a plastic part, and does the maker say which plastic? An outer cover that never touches food is a different question from a food-contact one, but “undisclosed resin” is still a gap.
  • Is it leak-proof, and how? Leak-proof almost always means a silicone gasket. If “plastic-free” was your reason for buying, silicone is worth knowing about.
What we are not going to tell you

We have not found evidence that stainless lunchboxes are a meaningful source of anything harmful, and we are not going to imply otherwise to make this page more exciting. The steel grade question is about durability and disclosure, not danger.

Stainless lunch box questions

Are stainless steel lunch boxes leakproof?

Most are not leakproof for runny liquids. Boxes without a seal, like LunchBots Cinco, are for dry food only, per the maker. Boxes with a silicone seal, like Nudie Rudie and Ever Eco, say they hold thick foods like yoghurt and hummus; Nudie Rudie says to put thin liquids in its dip pot.

Can you microwave a stainless steel lunch box?

No. Where makers say, they say not to: Yumbox Prêt and Smash (per Officeworks) are not microwave safe. Move the food to a microwave-safe dish first.

What is 18/8 stainless steel?

18/8 means about 18% chromium and 8% nickel. It is usually grade 304, the standard steel for food contact. 18/0 (grade 430) has no nickel and is less corrosion resistant.

What size lunch box does an adult need?

There is no standard. The kids’ bento boxes we list hold about 0.6–1.06 L. The biggest we list are Smash (1.4 L) and Seed & Sprout CrunchBox (1.2 L). Pick by what you pack.

Keep reading

All 168 products in one table  ·  Which brands publish anything at all  ·  All guides

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list isn’t open yet — email us and we’ll add you when it is.