MessyPig

26 checked · last checked 1 September 2026

Non-toxic air fryers, rated on what the basket is made of

Scored on what the basket you actually put food in is made of — which is almost never what the model name says. Most of them will not name the coating at all.

A grey air fryer on a wooden bench with its basket pulled out, holding sweet potato fries and crumbed chicken, with rosemary and a linen cloth beside it
Cookware (38)Lunchboxes (22)Food storage (24)Bottles (26)Air fryers (26)

The short version

  • Almost every basket is coated, and almost no maker says with what. “Non-stick” is not a material.
  • “Stainless steel” in the model name usually describes the housing, not the basket you put food in. Check the basket sentence specifically.
  • One brand names the actual coating chemistry — Philips, in a statutory filing, lists tetrafluoroethylene. Everyone else writes “ceramic” or nothing.
  • Nobody in this category publishes a lab report. Not one of the six. The best testing score here is a compliance filing.
  • A glass bowl removes the question — there is no coating to disclose. It is heavier and more breakable, which is the trade.
Why, in full ↓

The 26 we’ve checked

We score what it’s made of, so you don’t have to read the small print

Every score below is out of 100 for the materials — mostly what actually touches your food (60 points), then the lids, seals and handles (25), and whether the maker can back the materials claim up (15).

80–100 bare, inert materials 60–79 mostly inert 40–59 coated, or plastic in contact 0–39 coated, plastic, or unnamed

Bare stainless, cast iron and glass score highest because there is nothing applied to them that can come off. Coatings score lower the less the maker will say about them, and a product whose materials are never named cannot score at all — you can’t call something inert if nobody will tell you what it is.

This is not a safety rating. We run no laboratory. A low score means the food meets a coating or a plastic, or that nobody will say what it meets — which is worth knowing, and is not the same as something being wrong with it. How we score, in full

Ranked by score. Nothing here is a paid link — we are not in any affiliate programme.

81 out of 100 materials score

Bare, inert materials

Touches food60/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15
Best material here

Fritaire Glass Air Fryer 5qt

Tempered glass bowl · 304 stainless accessories · food-contact coatings: none

Best material

The only air fryer here with no coating to disclose. Fritaire states the food-contact coatings outright as “None” — a glass bowl and bare 304 stainless accessories.

It is also the only one of the six that says where it is made. Nothing else in this category manages either.

They claim
"All food-contact surfaces in Fritaire are free of PFAS, PFOA, and PTFE"
Made in
China — stated; designed in Florida
Warranty
60 days (page title says 90)
Heat
400°F
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No third-party testing published. The “free of PFAS, PFOA and PTFE” claim rests on there being no coating at all, which is a reasonable basis — but it is an argument from design, not a test report. [1]
  • The warranty page contradicts itself. The page title says “90-Day Limited Warranty” and the body text says “sixty (60) days”. The product page also says 60 days, so treat 60 as the real figure and the title as a site error. [2]
  • Sixty days is extremely short for an appliance at this price. Most of this category offers one to five years. [2]
  • Glass is heavier and more fragile than a steel basket. That is the trade you are making.

Sources (3)

  1. Fritaire 5qt glass air fryer product page
  2. Fritaire warranty page — the 60 vs 90 day discrepancy
  3. Fritaire FAQ — country of manufacture
$199.99from $249.99 View on fritaire.com
64 out of 100 materials score

Mostly inert

Touches food47/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Cuisinart ClearView 4 qt Glass Basket

“Transparent glass basket”, glass type not named · “PFAS-free Ceramic Nonstick Crisper Plate”, coating chemistry not named · crisper plate substrate not named

Fine

An actual glass basket, plus an unqualified PFAS-free claim on the one coated part — not hedged with “no intentionally added”, as several cookware brands hedge theirs.

It is the strongest food-contact story we could verify in this category, and Cuisinart still will not say what the ceramic actually is.

They claim
"PFAS-free Ceramic Nonstick Crisper Plate"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
Three years — exclusions not stated on the product page
Heat
Up to 450°F; crisper plate dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Cuisinart’s other air fryer baskets are not described this way at all. The replacement basket for the TOA-70 oven gives no material, and another is listed simply as “Nonstick Air Fryer Basket”. “Cuisinart is PFAS-free” does not generalise across the line. [1] [2]
  • Three years is the longest warranty in this category by a distance, though the exclusions are not stated on the product page. [1]
  • We could find no California AB 1200 disclosure for Cuisinart or Conair, so the PFAS-free claim rests on the product page alone. [1]
  • The glass type is not named — the same gap that runs through our food storage category, where only one maker in fourteen names its glass. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Cuisinart ClearView 4-Quart Glass Basket Air Fryer (AFC-4)
  2. Cuisinart air fryer parts — replacement baskets with no material given
$139.95AFC-4 View on cuisinart.com
54 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food26/60
The rest17/25
Backed up11/15

Nuwave Brio Plus 7 qt

“PFAS-free ceramic basket” with a “100% non-toxic, all-metal interior” — substrate under the ceramic not named, chemistry not named

Read the caveats

Nuwave’s own AB 1200 page names PTFE and FEP in Brio air fryer baskets — annotated, in their words, “PTFE coating in tray and basket”.

This model is not on that list, so the PFAS-free claim is not directly contradicted. But the Brio line is split down the middle and the product pages do not tell you which half you are buying.

They claim
"PFAS-free ceramic basket"; "100% non-toxic"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year manufacturer’s warranty
Heat
50°F to 400°F; ceramic non-stick base tray dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Roughly fifteen Brio models from 2.6 to 6 qt and seven from 7.25 to 8 qt are listed with polytetrafluoroethylene (CAS 9002-84-0) and fluorinated ethylene propylene (CAS 25067-11-2). This is one of the clearest maker-published statements anywhere that an air fryer basket is PTFE-coated. [2]
  • The page carrying that disclosure is titled “California AB 1200 Compliance: Nuwave’s Safety Assurance” and opens “we pride ourselves on producing the safest products possible”. The disclosure is framed as reassurance. [2]
  • “100% non-toxic, all-metal interior” describes the cooking cavity, not the coating on the basket. Read quickly, it reads as a statement about the food-contact surface. [1]
  • Like every maker in this category, Nuwave names the coating only as “ceramic”. Nobody publishes the chemistry. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Nuwave Brio Plus 7 qt Air Fryer
  2. Nuwave California AB 1200 disclosure — PTFE and FEP in Brio baskets
$139.99model 37351 View on nuwavenow.com
50 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food26/60
The rest13/25
Backed up11/15

Chefman TurboFry Dual Basket 9 qt

“PFAS-free ceramic nonstick coating” on both baskets — substrate not named, chemistry not named

Read the caveats

Chefman publishes an AB 1200 disclosure that names PTFE in air fryer baskets — for eleven other models — and spells out the substrate too: “Pot, rack, Dip tray (Aluminized with PTFE coating)”.

This model is not on that list, so this is not a self-contradiction. It does mean one Chefman shelf is PTFE-on-aluminium and the next is marketed PFAS-free ceramic, with nothing on the product pages to tell them apart.

They claim
"PFAS-free ceramic nonstick coating"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year
Heat
450°F / 232°C; baskets and racks top-rack dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The claim here is unqualified — “PFAS-free ceramic nonstick coating” with no “intentionally added” hedge. Worth crediting against the cookware brands that hedge. [1]
  • Chefman’s disclosure also lists “carbon black (airborne, unbound particles of respirable size)” among air fryer chemicals. [2]
  • Everything — both baskets and both racks — is stated top-rack dishwasher safe, which is more generous than most and harder on a ceramic coating than hand washing. [1]
  • Country of manufacture is not published. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Chefman 9 qt TurboFry Dual Basket Air Fryer
  2. Chefman California AB 1200 disclosure list — PTFE on aluminised baskets
$159.99RJ38-45DBW View on chefman.com
47 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food26/60
The rest21/25
Backed up0/15

Cosori Iconic Stainless Steel 6.5qt

304 stainless structure · 430 stainless exterior · but the basket surface is ceramic-coated

Read the caveats

Sold as the stainless steel air fryer. The stainless is the housing. Cosori’s own page says the basket is “ceramic-coated, nonstick”.

If you were buying this to get away from coatings, read the product page twice — the answer is in there, just not in the name.

They claim
"cooking surfaces free of PFAS and BPA"
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
5 years limited
Heat
450°F
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Their own words, from the same page: “6.5-Quart Capacity: Cook meals for 3–5 people with the large, ceramic-coated, nonstick basket” and “PFAS-free ceramic-coated, nonstick basket”. The disclosure is honest; the model name is what misleads. [1]
  • No third-party testing, no named laboratory, no country of manufacture. [1]
  • Five year warranty, against Cosori’s usual two. That is a real signal about this line. [1]
  • Brand history worth knowing: in February 2023 the US CPSC recalled around two million Cosori air fryers over fire and burn hazards — 205 reports of fires, overheating or melting, 10 minor burn injuries. The recalled models are older SKUs, not this one, but it is the brand’s record. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Cosori Iconic air fryer product page
  2. US CPSC recall of approximately two million Cosori air fryers, February 2023
47 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food34/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja Air Fryer Max XL 5.5 qt

“The basket and crisper plate are both made of aluminium and have a Ceramic Non-stick coating, It is Teflon and PFOA Free” — SharkNinja support

Read the caveats

The market leader, and the hardest brand in this category to get a straight answer from. That quotation is the only place SharkNinja states the basket material anywhere we could reach — and it is on their Australian support site.

Every US SharkNinja property refused us: ninjakitchen.com and sharkninja.com blocked outright, and both support domains returned 403 on eight separate attempts. We are recording that plainly rather than sourcing the answer from a retailer.

They claim
"It is Teflon and PFOA Free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — US warranty pages unreachable
Heat
240°C on the APAC unit; the US AF160 is rated 450°F; dishwasher safety not stated on the page we reached
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • SharkNinja publishes no California AB 1200 or chemical disclosure covering air fryers that we or an independent disclosure index could find. For the US market leader that is a real gap — Elite Gourmet and Nuwave, far smaller companies, both publish per-model chemical tables. [1] [2]
  • “Teflon free” is a brand claim, not a chemistry claim. Ninja does not claim PTFE-free and does not claim PFAS-free, and “ceramic” is never named as a chemistry. [1]
  • Credit: the substrate is named — aluminium — which several competitors never state at all. [1]
  • SharkNinja recalled 1.8 million Foodi multi-function pressure cookers in 2025 over a burn hazard with serious injuries reported. Not air fryers — but buyers routinely confuse the shared Foodi name. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. SharkNinja APAC support — AF160 FAQ, the basket and crisper plate materials
  2. SharkNinja kitchenware index — no chemical disclosure page
  3. CPSC — SharkNinja recalls 1.8 million Foodi pressure cookers, 2025
Price not publishedAF160 series View on ninjakitchenapac.zendesk.com
43 out of 100 materials score

Coated, or plastic in contact

Touches food26/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja Crispi Portable Glass Air Fryer

Glass containers, type not named · “the coating on the basket, divider, and crisper plates are PFOA free and non-toxic” — no substrate, no chemistry

Read the caveats

Sold on the strength of the word “glass” — and Ninja’s own FAQ confirms the basket, divider and crisper plates are coated.

The glass is the container. The surface directly under the food is not glass, and its chemistry is given as “non-toxic”, which is the vaguest material statement we found in this category.

They claim
"PFOA free and non-toxic"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Maximum temperature not stated on the FAQ; hand wash the containers, plates and lids
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Non-toxic” is unqualified marketing language with no standard behind it, attached to the most material-forward marketing of any product here. [1]
  • The glass type is never named — not borosilicate, not soda-lime — on a product whose entire proposition is that it is glass. [1]
  • The US and Canadian versions of this FAQ both refused us, so this statement also comes from SharkNinja’s Australian support instance. We are flagging that rather than hiding it. [1] [2]
  • The care instruction is hand washing for the food-contact parts, with the powered pod never in the dishwasher. Dishwasher safety for the containers and plates is not stated either way. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. SharkNinja APAC support — FN101 Ninja Crispi FAQ
  2. Ninja Canada support — FN100 Crispi FAQ, returned 403
Price not publishedFN101 / FN100 View on ninjakitchenapac.zendesk.com
38 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food14/60
The rest13/25
Backed up11/15

Philips Airfryer HD9650 series

Coating chemistry named in a statutory filing: tetrafluoroethylene (the PTFE monomer)

Read the caveats

The only maker in this category that names the actual coating chemistry. Their statutory chemical disclosure lists tetrafluoroethylene — the PTFE monomer — against product codes HD9630, HD9650 and HD9654.

Nobody else gets near this. Every other brand writes “non-stick” or “ceramic” and stops.

They claim
None found on their US pages
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
UNVERIFIED
Heat
UNVERIFIED — not published on the pages we could reach
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • The disclosure goes further than the law strictly needs to: against tetrafluoroethylene it also records “IARC Carcinogens - 2A; NTP 13th RoC - reasonable; Prop 65”. A brand publishing the hazard classifications of its own coating monomer is rare enough to be worth saying out loud. [1]
  • Their own disclaimer is the fair counterweight and we are quoting it in full: “The presence of a chemical on the above list does not mean that the product is unsafe and all the food contact material comply with relevant limits and requirements from the Food and Drug Administration”. [1]
  • This is a compliance filing, not a test report. No laboratory is named and no result is published, which is why it counts as a declaration rather than an independent test. [1]
  • The filing is published by Versuni, which licenses the Philips kitchen brand — so the document sits on a different domain from the product pages. Easy to miss, which rather defeats the point. [1]
  • No country of manufacture stated. No price on their own US site either, which is why we have not quoted one. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Versuni / Philips chemical disclosure statement — names tetrafluoroethylene by product code
  2. Philips: what materials and coatings are used in my Airfryer
UNVERIFIEDnot published on their US site View on us.home-appliances.philips
38 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food14/60
The rest13/25
Backed up11/15

T-fal Infrared Air Fryer 7.3 qt

“This product contains PTFE for its nonstick properties” — stated on the product page · basket substrate not named

Read the caveats

T-fal restricts shipping of this air fryer to Colorado, Maine and Minnesota — the three states with the most advanced PFAS-in-products restrictions.

A maker declining to ship a PTFE-coated appliance into the PFAS-ban states is a stronger signal about what is in it than any marketing claim on any other page in this category.

They claim
None made — T-fal discloses PTFE instead
Made in
China (stated)
Warranty
“Limited Warranty-SDA” — length not stated on the product page
Heat
Maximum temperature not stated; basket and tray hand wash only
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The most honest maker here on chemistry and the least appealing on materials: PTFE named outright on the product page, country of manufacture published, and no greenwashing at all. [1]
  • Both the basket and the removable tray are hand wash only, not dishwasher safe — unusual in this category, and a coating-longevity signal worth reading. [1]
  • No maximum temperature is stated on the product page. [1]
  • The page carries no Prop 65 warning but links a footer page titled “California AB 1200 and Other Chemical Disclosures”. [1] [2]

Sources (2)

  1. T-fal Infrared Air Fryer 7.3 qt (EY8338U0)
  2. T-fal AB 1200 and other chemical disclosures
$129.99EY8338U0 View on t-fal.com
38 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food14/60
The rest13/25
Backed up11/15

Elite Gourmet 23L Digital Air Fryer Oven

Product page says only “non-stick coated bake pan, air fry basket, removable rack” — the maker’s own AB 1200 filing puts this model in the PTFE group

Read the caveats

The cleanest maker-published PTFE finding in this category. The product page says “non-stick”; the same company’s AB 1200 page names PTFE for this exact model number.

Two of one maker’s own pages, one vague and one specific, about one product — and the specific one is the statutory filing.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year limited, with US-based support — exclusions not stated
Heat
450°F; accessories stated dishwasher safe; no coating-care guidance
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Credit where it is genuinely due: Elite Gourmet’s disclosure is model-grouped and actually usable. Group 1 is metals only with no fluoropolymer; group 2 lists “PFASs”; group 3, which includes this model, lists PTFE specifically. A buyer can pick a model on that basis — which is more than almost any competitor offers. [2]
  • No “free of” claim is made. Instead the page carries a Prop 65 warning regarding acrylamide exposure, which is about the food rather than the appliance. [1]
  • The URL slug reads “3-5-quart-electric-digital-air-fryer” for a 23 litre oven — the maker’s own page was recycled from another product. [1]
  • Country of manufacture not published. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Elite Gourmet EAF9310 23L Digital Air Fryer Oven
  2. Elite Gourmet California AB 1200 cookware disclosure — the model groups
$159.99EAF9310, listed sold out View on shopelitegourmet.com
34 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food34/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Beautiful 6 Qt Air Fryer, EverGood Ceramic (Lavender)

“EverGood Ceramic Nonstick Coating, free from intentionally added PFAS, PTFE, lead, or cadmium”

Read the caveats

The strongest coating claim we found on any American mass-retail air fryer: free from intentionally added PFAS, PTFE, lead and cadmium, all four named.

Now read the next two entries. They are the same 6-quart Beautiful air fryer, at the same $69, in different colours — and they make completely different chemical claims.

They claim
"free from intentionally added PFAS, PTFE, lead, or cadmium"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — header present, no terms
Heat
Dishwasher guidance not stated on this SKU
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • “Intentionally added” is the scope. It does not exclude PFAS present as a processing aid, an impurity, or from supply-chain contamination. No test method, no standard and no certifying body is named. [1]
  • The basket substrate metal is not published, and neither is the housing. [1]
  • Per Defend Our Health, Beautiful’s own California AB 1200 page “discloses PFAS in air fryers, waffle makers, griddles, and other appliances with specific model numbers listed”. That page was unreachable to us. If any listed model corresponds to a SKU marketed as PFAS- and PTFE-free, that is the story — and it needs checking before anyone relies on this claim. [2]
  • Country of manufacture not stated. The warranty header is present with no terms under it. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Walmart — Beautiful 6 Qt Air Fryer, Lavender
  2. Defend Our Health — cookware materials disclosures index
$69identical price to the two SKUs below View on walmart.com
33 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food14/60
The rest13/25
Backed up6/15

Instant Vortex Plus 6qt

Product page says only “nonstick” · brand chemical disclosure names PTFE, PFA and FEP

Fine

The product page says “nonstick” and nothing else. But Instant publishes a chemical disclosure page that states its products contain “PFAS (including PTFE, PFA, and FEP)”.

It makes no “free of” claim anywhere, which is why claim precision scores full marks. You cannot overclaim if you do not claim.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
1 year limited
Heat
400°F
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The disclosure is brand-wide, not per model. It links to a per-product document we could not open, so we cannot confirm which coating is on this specific fryer — only that the brand admits PTFE, PFA and FEP across its range. [2]
  • Two Instant pages disagree in spirit: the product page sells “nonstick” with no chemistry, the compliance page names three fluoropolymers. Both are theirs. [1] [2]
  • No third-party testing, no named laboratory, no country of manufacture. [1]
  • One year warranty, excluding “accident, alteration, misuse, abuse, neglect, unreasonable use” and unauthorised parts. [1]

Sources (2)

  1. Instant Vortex Plus 6qt product page
  2. Instant Brands cookware chemical disclosures — names PTFE, PFA, FEP
UNVERIFIEDdiscounts frequently View on instantpot.com
33 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food14/60
The rest8/25
Backed up11/15

De’Longhi IdealFry Rapid Crisp 4 qt

Marketed as “Easy Clean Nonstick”. The maker’s own AB 1200 filing lists, as intentionally added: PFAS, tetrafluoroethylene and bisphenol S

Read the caveats

The cleanest example on this site of a statutory disclosure telling the truth the product page does not.

The product is sold as “Easy Clean Nonstick”. De’Longhi’s California AB 1200 filing names this exact model and discloses bisphenol S, tetrafluoroethylene and “perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFASs)” as intentionally added.

They claim
"do not intentionally contain PFOA or PFOS" — stated in the compliance disclosure, not the marketing
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published on the US product page
Warranty
Three years standard, plus one on registration — “eligibility varies by model”
Heat
Marketed “Easy Clean Nonstick”; no dishwasher, temperature or coating-care guidance retrievable
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The hedge is in the same document: De’Longhi states its PTFE coating and FKM rubbers “do not intentionally contain PFOA or PFOS”. That is a two-compound carve-out inside a filing that confirms PFAS presence. Treat any PFOA-free claim on a coated basket as non-informative; this is the citable proof. [1]
  • BPS is disclosed — the substitute most “BPA-free” marketing quietly relies on — named in De’Longhi’s own filing. [1]
  • De’Longhi is one of very few air fryer makers publishing an AB 1200 page at all. The absence of such a page elsewhere in this category is itself a scoring signal, and we treat it as one. [1]
  • The US product page is JavaScript-heavy and rendered as a template for us; the material facts above come entirely from the compliance disclosure and the category listing. [2] [3]

Sources (3)

  1. De'Longhi California AB 1200 cookware disclosure — the model list and chemicals
  2. De'Longhi IdealFry Rapid Crisp 4 qt US product page
  3. De'Longhi US air fryers category
$149.95FH2133/1.BK View on delonghi.com
32 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food19/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Typhur Dome 2

Aluminium alloy basket · “PFAS-free nonstick ceramic” on the product page; the manual says only “a non-stick coating”

Read the caveats

The product page names both the substrate and the coating type, which is more than most. Then the user manual that ships with it describes the same surface as just “a non-stick coating”.

Two documents from the same company, different levels of specificity, and the vaguer one is the one in the box.

They claim
"PFAS-free" and "fluorine-free" (product page only)
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
1 year, 18 months if registered
Heat
450°F
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The manual makes no PFAS or PFOA claim at all, while the product page claims “PFAS-free” and “fluorine-free”. If the claim is substantiated it belongs in both. [1] [2]
  • On testing their FAQ says only that “Typhur conducts extensive durability testing to ensure the heating system is safe and reliable”. No laboratory, no standard, no report — and durability testing of the heating system is not a test of the coating. [3]
  • No country of manufacture published anywhere we could find, including the manual. [3]
  • One year warranty, extendable to 18 months if you register within 30 days. [4]

Sources (4)

  1. Typhur Dome 2 product page
  2. Typhur Dome user manual — the vaguer wording
  3. Typhur Dome FAQs — the durability testing line
  4. Typhur warranty terms
$339.99from $399.99 View on typhur.com
32 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food19/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Gourmia 7 qt Glass Basket Air Fryer

The same product page says both “fully glass basket” and “nonstick basket and crisper tray”. No glass type, no coating chemistry, no crisper-plate material

They won't say

“Unique design and fully glass basket offers a full view of food.” And, further down the same page: “just slip the nonstick basket and crisper tray into the dishwasher”.

A glass basket does not need a nonstick coating, and a nonstick basket is not fully glass. One of those two sentences is wrong, and a buyer choosing this specifically to avoid coatings cannot tell which.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — the contact page links a warranty page that shows no terms
Heat
Basket and crisper tray stated dishwasher safe; no temperature limits for the basket published
What we’d want you to know (3)
  • The model is named and sold on the glass — “with Glass Basket” is in the product title — while the cleaning copy describes a coated basket. It is the same pattern as “stainless steel” model names over coated food-contact parts, which recurs throughout this category. [1]
  • No coating chemistry, no glass type, no PFOA, PTFE or PFAS statement, no warranty and no country of manufacture. Effectively zero material disclosure behind a $199 price. [1] [2]
  • Gourmia’s own GAF7020 manual PDF and catalogue page are blocked by robots.txt, so the one document that would resolve the contradiction is not machine-readable. We are recording that rather than guessing which claim is right. [3] [4]

Sources (4)

  1. Gourmia 7-quart digital air fryer with glass basket (GAF7020)
  2. Gourmia contact and warranty link — no terms shown
  3. Gourmia GAF7020 manual PDF — blocked by robots.txt
  4. Gourmia catalogue item page — blocked by robots.txt
32 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food19/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Dreo ChefMaker Combi Fryer 6 qt

Sold with a “transparent glass basket”. The only replacement Dreo sells for it is the “Extra ChefMaker Non-stick Basket” with a “clear viewing window”. Coating never named

They won't say

The $359 page reads as coating-free. The $49 spare part says otherwise: a glass viewing window is not a glass basket.

Across a three-page, $432 accessory chain — fryer, basket, tray — Dreo never names the coating once.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
12 months — excludes cosmetic damage, misuse, modification and commercial use
Heat
Dishwasher-safe basket; built-in self-cleaning; no temperature limit published for the basket
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The $24 cooking tray, a direct food-contact part sold separately, has no stated material at all. Its entire official description is that it “fits snugly within the ChefMaker basket”. [3]
  • Twelve months of warranty on a $359 appliance, excluding “cosmetic damage” — which is how coating wear on a basket typically first presents. [5]
  • No temperature limit published for the basket or its coating, on a machine with a water atomiser and a meat probe. [1]
  • No PFOA, PTFE or PFAS statement on any Dreo page we read, and no California AB 1200 disclosure we could find. [1] [2]

Sources (5)

  1. Dreo ChefMaker Combi Fryer
  2. Dreo Extra ChefMaker Non-stick Basket — the contradicting spare part
  3. Dreo Extra ChefMaker Cooking Tray — no material stated
  4. Dreo ChefMaker landing page
  5. Dreo warranty policy
$359DR-KCM001S View on dreo.com
28 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest17/25
Backed up11/15

Kalorik MAXX Advance 26 qt

Basket and tray materials not published at all · the PFAS-free claim is attached to the steel cavity, not to the basket

They won't say

A scoped claim worth reading twice: “PFAS FREE — Because your family’s health is important Maxx has a steel cavity construction that is PFAS free.”

That is a statement about the oven cavity. The basket and trays your food actually sits on get no material statement of any kind. Read at speed, the page reads as a PFAS-free air fryer.

They claim
"BPA & PFOA-Free"; "PFAS FREE ... steel cavity construction that is PFAS free"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year limited
Heat
500°F / 260°C; dishwasher safety not stated
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • We checked the claim against Kalorik’s own AB 1200 filing and it holds up: this model is listed with metals only — aluminium, chromium, nickel, iron, manganese, zinc — and no PTFE. Credit that properly. [2]
  • The same disclosure names PTFE for three sibling models, flagged under CECBP priority chemicals, IARC 2A, the NTP 13th Report on Carcinogens and Prop 65. Same brand, same shelf, different chemistry. [2]
  • The older Kalorik MAXX says its nonstick coating is “BPA & PFOA Free”. A coating that is PFOA-free is not a coating that is PTFE-free, and Kalorik does not claim it is. [3]
  • 500°F is the highest maximum temperature in this category. Dishwasher safety is not stated. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Kalorik MAXX Advance 26 qt (AFO 52233 SS)
  2. Kalorik product formulation information and AB 1200 disclosure
  3. Kalorik MAXX (AFO46045SS) — the older “BPA & PFOA Free” coating claim
$289.99AFO 52233 SS View on kalorik.com
27 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest13/25
Backed up6/15

Chefman TurboFry Touch “Stainless-Steel” 8 qt

The stainless steel is the housing finish. The basket is given only as “nonstick basket” — no substrate, no chemistry, no claim

They won't say

The textbook case of the trap. The model name says stainless steel; the surface your food touches is an unnamed nonstick coating.

A buyer scanning model names would get this wrong, and it is the same pattern we found on the Cosori Iconic Stainless Steel and the Instant Vortex Plus Stainless Steel.

They claim
None made — the page carries a Prop 65 cancer and reproductive harm warning
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year
Heat
400°F / 205°C; top-rack dishwasher safe basket
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No “free of” claim at all. Instead the page carries a Prop 65 warning: “Cancer and Reproductive Harm”. [1]
  • Same brand, two pages apart: Chefman’s dual-basket model claims PFAS-free ceramic, and neither page acknowledges the other. Their TurboX 5-quart does both at once — a “PFAS-free nonstick basket” and the Prop 65 cancer warning on the same page. [1] [2]
  • This model does not appear on Chefman’s AB 1200 disclosure list, which names PTFE on aluminised baskets for eleven other Chefman air fryers. [3]
  • 400°F and a top-rack dishwasher-safe basket — on a coating with no published chemistry and no care guidance. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Chefman TurboFry Touch “Stainless-Steel” Air Fryer
  2. Chefman TurboX 5-Quart — PFAS-free claim and Prop 65 warning on one page
  3. Chefman California AB 1200 disclosure list
$119.99RJ38-SQSS-8T View on chefman.com
27 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest13/25
Backed up6/15

Instant Vortex 9 qt VersaZone

Basket and cooking tray described only as “non-stick” — no substrate, no chemistry

They won't say

Instant Brands’ chemical disclosure is blanket rather than per-product: its products “contain iron, chromium, manganese, nickel, phosphorus, aluminum, carbon black, titanium dioxide and/or PFAS (including PTFE, PFA, and FEP)”.

That “and/or” means no buyer can tell whether their specific Vortex is fluoropolymer-coated. Compare Elite Gourmet and Nuwave on this page, which list model by model.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
One year limited — excludes misuse, modification and normal wear and tear
Heat
Maximum temperature not published; basket, tray and divider top-rack dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • No air fryer model appears individually anywhere on that disclosure page. It satisfies the letter of a disclosure requirement while telling a buyer nothing about the product in front of them. [2]
  • The disclosure does explain the chemistry usefully: “PTFE, PFA and FEP are all fluoropolymers that create a non-stick surface on the food-contact surface”. The explanation is good; the model-level attribution is missing. [2]
  • The sibling “Vortex Plus 6QT Stainless Steel” shows the same naming trap — a “sleek stainless steel finish” on the housing, with the basket given only as dishwasher-safe. [4]
  • No maximum temperature and no price published on the product page. [1]

Sources (4)

  1. Instant Vortex 9 qt Air Fryer with VersaZone
  2. Instant Pot cookware chemical disclosures — the blanket “and/or” statement
  3. Instant Pot product warranties
  4. Instant Vortex Plus 6QT “Stainless Steel”
Price not published140-3092-01 View on instantpot.com
21 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Our Place Wonder Oven

Air fryer basket: “Steel”, grade not stated · bake pan: aluminium with ceramic coating

Read the caveats

Better than most at saying which accessory is which: the basket is listed as steel, the bake pan separately as “Aluminum with non-toxic ceramic nonstick coating”.

But the steel has no grade, “non-toxic” is doing unearned work, and the blanket “accessories are made without PTFE” claim sits directly above an accessory that has a coating.

They claim
"made without PTFE (Teflon), PFOA, PFAS, Lead & Cadmium"
Made in
UNVERIFIED
Warranty
1 year limited
Heat
200–450°F
What we’d want you to know (5)
  • The claim is written as covering the accessories: “Accessories are made without the following: PTFE (Teflon), PFOA, PFAS, Lead & Cadmium”. One of those accessories is ceramic-coated. Ceramic sol-gel is not PTFE, so the claim can be literally true — but it reads as “no coating” and that is not what it says. [1]
  • “Non-toxic” is not a regulated term and nothing is published to substantiate it. [1]
  • “Steel” with no grade is the same gap we dock lunchbox brands for. 304 and 430 behave differently. [1]
  • No testing, no named laboratory, no country of manufacture. [1]
  • One year warranty, excluding “normal wear and tear”, glass parts and accessories packed with the appliance. [2]

Sources (2)

  1. Our Place Wonder Oven product page
  2. Our Place warranty terms
21 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest13/25
Backed up0/15

Hamilton Beach 5.8 qt Digital Air Fryer

“Removable nonstick basket and crisping insert” — no substrate and no coating chemistry in any Hamilton Beach document we read

They won't say

The word “nonstick” appears in the product title and is never once explained in any document the company publishes.

The “stainless steel exterior” is, as usual in this category, the housing rather than anything your food touches.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
175°F to 400°F; dishwasher safety not stated
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Hamilton Beach sells the coated parts separately — a replacement basket at $33.99, pans at $33.99 to $35.99, a crisping insert at $34.99. That is roughly a quarter of the appliance price to replace a coating with no published chemistry and no published care guidance. [3]
  • No warranty terms on the product page or in the company’s own product PDF. [1] [2]
  • We could find no California AB 1200 disclosure for Hamilton Beach. [1] [2]
  • Dishwasher safety is not stated on either document, for a part sold as removable and washable. [1] [2]

Sources (3)

  1. Hamilton Beach 5.8 qt Digital Air Fryer (35075)
  2. Hamilton Beach air fryer product PDF
  3. Hamilton Beach replacement air fryer basket
$129.99model 35075 View on hamiltonbeach.com
17 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest17/25
Backed up0/15

Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer BOV860

Nothing published. The full US instruction manual and the product page name no material for the air fry basket, baking pan, broiling rack or roasting pan. “Brushed Stainless Steel” describes the oven body.

They won't say

The most expensive appliance in this category and the least forthcoming. We read the complete instruction manual: it contains no food-contact material disclosure at all, and no PFOA, PTFE or PFAS statement anywhere.

A “13-inch Non-Stick Pizza Pan” is listed among the accessories with no chemistry given.

They claim
None made
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — the warranty page and the product page each defer to the other
Heat
120°F to 450°F; accessories not recommended for the dishwasher
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The warranty documentation is circular. The warranty page says “to find the warranty length of your specific product, refer to the product page”; the BOV860 product page does not state it. We could not establish the warranty length for a $349.95 appliance from Breville’s own site. [1] [3]
  • Explicitly not dishwasher safe: “to extend the life of your accessories, we do not recommend that these be placed in the dishwasher”. [2]
  • We could find no California AB 1200 disclosure for Breville. [1] [2]
  • Country of manufacture is not stated in the manual or on the product page. [2]

Sources (3)

  1. Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer BOV860
  2. BOV860 US instruction manual (PDF)
  3. Breville US warranty page — defers to the product page
16 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest8/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja Crispi 5-in-1 Glass Air Fry System (Costco)

Glass containers, type not stated · crisper plate material and coating not stated

Avoid

Sold on “Glass” in its own product title, and the glass type is not published — which matters enormously for a vessel cycled to 450°F.

Borosilicate and tempered soda-lime behave very differently under thermal shock. The Australian listing for the sibling model does name borosilicate. This one does not.

They claim
No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA claim
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Dishwasher safe parts
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • The crisper plates sit under the food and their material and coating are not stated. Ninja’s Canadian pages state “All food-contact surfaces are designed without PFAS and PTFE” — that statement does not appear on this listing and we do not score claims made on other continents. [1] [2]
  • “Leak Proof Lids So Meals Don’t Spill On The Go” — lid material not published, and the lids contact food. [1]
  • “Dishwasher Safe Parts” is the only cleaning information. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE, BPA, warranty or country of origin on the page. Across three Ninja listings at Costco, not a single food-contact material is named — on the 10-quart DualZone, the word “Non-stick” appears once, as a feature tag. [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Costco — Ninja Crispi 5-in-1 Portable Glass Air Fry Cooking System
  2. JB Hi-Fi Australia — Ninja Crispi, which does name borosilicate
  3. Costco — Ninja Foodi 6-in-1 10-qt DualZone Air Fryer
Member priceCostco does not display prices to non-members View on costco.com
8 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Beautiful 6 Qt Air Fryer, TurboCrisp (Sage Green)

“PFOA/PFOS-free removable crisping tray and pan” — coating chemistry not named

Avoid

Same brand, same 6-quart air fryer, same $69. This one says “PFOA/PFOS-free”, which excludes two legacy processing aids and nothing else.

Walmart’s own published policy defines PFAS as “including PFOS, PFOA and PTFE”. By Walmart’s own definition, a PFOA/PFOS-free coating can still be PFAS.

They claim
"PFOA/PFOS-free removable crisping tray and pan"
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Crisping tray and pan dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Three SKUs of one product at one price, with claims ranging from “no PTFE” to “no PFOA/PFOS” to nothing at all. A shopper cannot tell which basket they are buying, and the colour is the only thing distinguishing them. [1] [2] [3]
  • “Prepares air-fried foods with 88% less fat and 65% fewer calories compared to restaurant-fried alternatives” — no source cited for either figure. [1]
  • “Stainless steel components” refers to the housing, not the tray or pan. [1]
  • Country of manufacture and warranty: neither stated. [1]

Sources (3)

  1. Walmart — Beautiful 6 Qt Air Fryer, Sage Green
  2. Walmart — the same fryer in Lavender, “free from intentionally added PFAS, PTFE”
  3. Walmart — the same fryer in Black Sesame, no coating claim at all
$69same product and price as the Lavender and Black Sesame SKUs View on walmart.com
8 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food8/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Ninja Foodi 6-in-1 10-qt DualZone Air Fryer (Costco)

Nothing stated — the only material information is a spec row reading “Features: Non-stick”

Avoid

Two 5-quart baskets, two broiler racks and two crisper plates. Six food-contact parts, and the word “Non-stick” appears once on the whole page, as a feature tag.

A ten-quart appliance whose coating is acknowledged to exist and is never identified.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — heading present, no content
Heat
Not published
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Basket material not published. Crisper plate material not published. Broiler rack material not published. Housing not published. [1]
  • No PFAS, PFOA, PTFE or BPA statement. No country of manufacture. No dishwasher guidance. [1]
  • A “Manufacturer’s Warranty Information” heading appears on the page with no content beneath it. [1]
  • The spec table lists “Minimum Temperature: 150°F” while the description says the range starts at 105°F. Two fields on one page, 45 degrees apart, on a machine sold with a dehydrate function. [1]

Sources (1)

  1. Costco — Ninja Foodi 6-in-1 10-qt XL 2-Basket Air Fryer
Member priceCostco does not display prices to non-members View on costco.com
0 out of 100 materials score

Coated, plastic, or unnamed

Touches food0/60
The rest0/25
Backed up0/15

Beautiful 6 Qt Air Fryer, TurboCrisp (Black Sesame)

Nothing stated — no coating claim of any kind

Avoid

The third colour of the same $69 air fryer, and this one makes no coating claim at all.

The only material statement on the page is “1750-watt system with stainless steel for faster heat-up and cool-down times” — which describes the appliance body, not the basket.

They claim
No claim of any kind
Made in
UNVERIFIED — not published
Warranty
UNVERIFIED — not published
Heat
Crisping tray and pan dishwasher safe
What we’d want you to know (4)
  • Three listings, one product, one price. Lavender: free from intentionally added PFAS, PTFE, lead and cadmium. Sage Green: PFOA/PFOS-free. Black Sesame: nothing. Colour is the only variable a shopper can see. [1] [2] [3]
  • “Removable crisping tray and pan are dishwasher safe” is the only reference to the food-contact parts, and it describes cleaning rather than composition. [1]
  • No country of manufacture, no warranty, no model number stated. [1]
  • This is why a claim on one SKU should never be read across a product line. Same factory, same coating, three different pages. [1] [2] [3]

Sources (3)

  1. Walmart — Beautiful 6 Qt Air Fryer, Black Sesame
  2. Walmart — the same fryer in Lavender
  3. Walmart — the same fryer in Sage Green
$69same product and price as the Lavender and Sage Green SKUs View on walmart.com

Why an air fryer is worth checking separately

An air fryer is a non-stick pan that runs hotter, for longer, with a fan blowing across it. The basket is the food-contact surface, it gets scraped by tongs and stacked in a cupboard, and most people never think about it the way they think about a frying pan.

The disclosure picture is worse than cookware, not better. In cookware at least a few brands publish certificates. Here, none of the six publishes a laboratory report, and most will not even name the coating material.

The trap in the model name

The clearest example on this page: Cosori sells an air fryer called the Iconic Stainless Steel. It is a genuinely stainless-clad appliance — 304 for the food-contact structure, 430 on the exterior. But Cosori’s own page also says the basket is “ceramic-coated, nonstick”.

Both statements are true and both are theirs. If you bought it to escape coatings, the answer was on the page — just not in the name. Read the sentence about the basket, not the badge.

What “ceramic” means here

The same thing it means on a frying pan: a sol-gel coating, silica and metal oxides sprayed on and fired, whose exact recipe is proprietary. It is genuinely not PTFE. It is also not verifiable from outside. The longer version is here.

The one that names its chemistry

Philips is the outlier and deserves the credit. Their statutory chemical disclosure — filed under the Colorado and California disclosure rules — lists tetrafluoroethylene, the PTFE monomer, against air fryer product codes, and records its hazard classifications alongside it.

That is a brand publishing the hazard listing of its own coating chemistry. It is the most specific composition disclosure in this category by a distance, and it is worth noting that the reward for that honesty is looking worse than competitors who simply say less.

The honest summary

If the coating matters to you, a glass-bowl fryer is the only design here with nothing to disclose. If it does not, the practical advice is the same as for any non-stick surface: do not preheat it empty, do not scrape it with metal, and replace it when the coating starts lifting rather than when it looks tired.

And take the model name as marketing. The basket sentence is the product.

Keep reading

All 136 products in one table  ·  Which brands publish anything at all  ·  All guides

Related pages

One useful email a fortnight

New scores, brands that finally answered, and any rule change that affects what you can buy. The list isn’t open yet — email us and we’ll add you when it is.